Focus On: MAC Club

Focus On is a work in progress. Have you ever talked yourself out of buying a product because the color was too odd, and you wondered how often you would really be able to use it? Or, you know those colors you LOVE because of some hidden versatility that you never imagined when you bought it? I do that ALL of the time. In the interests of loving what I HAVE, and learning its limitations, rather than relying on the influx of new colors, I will be doing this post every Saturday, focusing on a new color from my collection, with examples of past work, ideas for other uses. Please feel free to suggest colors you wish to see, or uses for the ones listed, or let me know what your favorites are for future posts

On recommendation from Pumpkincat210, today’s color is Club.  It’s a rich, chocolate-y brown with a vibrant teal shimmer and a hint of mossy green. I’ve seen some similar tones from other companies-because it’s very versatile.  Bare Minerals Bon Bon has a slightly more prominent shimmer, and Urban Decay Misdemeanor is a paler gray base.

Update-Whoops!  Forgot to post a swatch first!

Apply over a dark primer to let loose the green shimmer, for a smoky eye with a wet, almost oily shine,

Applied with a fluffy brush, over a nude primer, with champagnes or nude shadows, it deepens a more conventional smoky eye.

This look demonstrates two points.  Applied wet, Club takes on a lovely pine color that makes a superb eyeliner.  Also, orange and corals can make the hint of green come out, even over a neutral primer.

Apply with bronzes and antique golds over that dark primer, for a matching olive tone to the shimmer.

A bright primer like this green can soften the brown for a crease tone.

Apply over a glittery teal primer to accent the sparkles, while adding depth.

Over a contrasting color primer(wine, in this case) between eggplant purple, and mushroom-y taupe, the brown base takes ona gray/blue note that softens.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 03:03:49

    That is one heck of a chameleon product. I am impressed (pretend that the i-word is in italics because I most def mean it).

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 29, 2010 @ 00:36:10

      I don’t always pick it up right off, for a look, since it CAN take some forethought to get it to have the effect you want. But it really CAN work in a lot of different ways. I’m pretty impressed by it too!

      Thank Pumpkincat for the idea to use it, though. I’d thought about it, thought “eh, I’m sure everyones seen similar and I’m just retreading old ground”, and didn’t start getting a compilation done on it till earlier.

      Reply

  2. pumpkincat210
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 04:57:12

    Cool! I really like the first, fourth and last picture. The last picture is really pretty because the club and pink makes your eyes really green. I think i’m going to wear club tomorrow now, with either a black base or a teal. They didn’t name it club for no reason definitely!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 29, 2010 @ 12:22:22

      Thanks. It IS a fun color to wear—I think there’s still a few sketched ideas with it I haven’t done, but I hope I did the color justice!

      That reminds me-I think I actually forgot to post a swatch photo. I’ll have to fix that.

      Reply

  3. macshadowcombos
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 17:12:29

    This is great!
    I like how you show such versatility with this color. It makes it less “scary” if you’re not familiar with some of the more colorful shades from MAC. Using it as an eyeliner looks like a lot of fun.

    Feeling fearless now! :)
    Love your blog!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 26, 2010 @ 08:26:32

      Especially for complex or duochrome colors that react differently over different primers and bases, the possibilities are ENDLESS! It may take a bit more planning in advance to make sure you’re using the right application for the effect, but that’s where this type of brainstorming comes in handy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

