Experimental Lip Graffiti part 2.

Still toying with ideas for an upcoming shoot…. Overall, I like the first batch better—I think I may try using MUFE Flash Creams rather than OCC Lip Tars to do the larger paint-splatter/polka-dot effect(And I should DEFINITELY mix them more–my yellow is a teeny bit separated, so those dots look a bit runny and sheer). You can already see these starting to bleed, if you look closely, so it won’t bode well for my poor model.  The boyfriend teased me because the pink and green look looks like we could pose it with a toy dinosaur.

I am having ENTIRELY too much fun having an excuse to do these.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marquita
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 16:08:41

    They look amazing ;)

    Reply

  2. Howmanygoats
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 16:29:04

    I love the pink and green one! Its my favorite!

    Reply

  3. thecandiedmango
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 16:46:46

    I love the pink+green dots, white/yellow/pink/blue dots, and bottom right splatter effect. I know you said they’re bleeding a bit but I think that just makes the last one look even more graffiti-like,as if you’d splattered the lip tar instead of dabbing it on.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 17:26:22

      It’s interesting, and more effective in some of the looks than in others—-I do think I like having more control over my products though. I may try to find a way to work that effect in again….

      Reply

  4. Loritza
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 16:54:17

    The bottom left reminds me of the piranha plant from mario brothers. Maybe you can go from that and do something Nintendo themed. That would be awesome!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 17:24:42

      You know, I like that idea! Now I have to figure out how to tie it into the shot itself… You have DEFINITELY tipped that look into being one of the ones I repeat for the shoot….

      Reply

  5. Juzzy
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 17:17:30

    OMG Jess!!!! I LOVE these!! They are so so awesome!!!! You are seriously so talented! They are super cool!!! Good job!!! :) <3

    Reply

  6. NeenaJ
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 06:04:31

    The top right blue look is my fave. It’s very graffiti-beautiful and it looks effortless – something quite difficult to achieve with such a laborious process.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Oct 05, 2011 @ 08:53:51

      That one was actually the LEAST time consuming of these!
      I blended OCC Vapid and Rx lip tars onto the lips as a base(Vapid in the inner portions of the lips, RX around the lipline, blending inwards into each other. Let that set for a bit(And clean up your lipline if needed), then I wet a natural bristle eyeshadow brush, scrunched it with my fingers to separate the bristles, and LIGHTLY dipped it in my portion of OCC Anime Lip tar—I speckled that onto the inner portion of the lip over Vapid, blending outward. I wet another brush, same process, and dipped it in Sugarpill Stella loose pigment, and stippled that into the outer portions of lips, and corners. Densest at the lipline, softening as it moved inwards. I touched up the Anime stippling a little bit to make sure they weren’t too far separate, and called it a day! Took 5-7 minutes, tops. It was actually the fastest look in this batch, because I didn’t have to use a teeny eyeliner brush to stipple each and every single polka dot/paint splatter on the way I did on the others.

      Of course, the more fussy and challenging a look, the more I enjoy it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 251 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

