Experimental Underwater Garden look

After puttering around the house in the lavender makeup, I decided it wasn’t bright enough. I wanted to try layering the Aqua cream shadows wtih the flash creams, to see how well the textures would work together.  So i did this.

I tried to keep the shadow over top as simple as possible, to preserve the blendings of the base and make it appear as subtle as possible.  It still creased faster than I’d like, with the Flash color base.  I didn’t quite get it set properly.

And then, I remembered that I wanted to test the aqua cream for doing delicate work, like eyeliner, or decorative detailing.  I had nothing sketched out, which is why we ended up with this atrocity. I like the eyes, but I wish I’d just skipped the cheeks. I feel like I just got back from a visit to the face painting booth at the carnaval.

Eyes

MAC Bare Canvas

MUFE Turquoise  cream shadow-apply to outer lower eye

MUFE Aqua flash cream-apply to inner lower eye. Pat lightly to blend with Turquise.

MAC Aquadisiac-layer thickly ALL over inner lower eye, middle of eye, and above crease, inner lower lashline

Fyrinnae Cheshire cats grin-apply to outer corner, blending into crease. Outer lower lashline

MAC Vanilla-highlight

Buxom Lashliner in Blue Velvet-apply to upper lashline and lower waterline.

MUFE Aqua cream in Insense Blue-line eyes to soften Blue Velvet

Too Faced Glitter Liner in Smurf You-apply thinly to upper lashline

Exceptionnel de chanel mascara

Vining on face is done with MUFE Cream Color in Intense blue(main vines) Emerald Green(inner leaves) and Lavender for the blossoms.  Additional stems are Urban Decay Minx liquid liner

CHeeks

MAC Brit wit

MAC Cream color in Pearl-highlight

Lips

MAC Viva Glam V

Before adding embellishments

With embellishment

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 02:19:49

    I love how the different shades of blue look with your eye color.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jun 07, 2010 @ 10:44:37

      Thanks! I really want an opaque aqua shadow similar in tone to the MUFE flash cream…. i lOVE aqua shadows, as many varieties as I can find! And this one, i thought turned out really well. I was not as thrilled with the embellishment, but I thought that the overall tone was exactly what I wanted. It was a bit finicky doing the layering, but the subtle blend that showed through was SOOO worth it. I just need to make sure to set it better next time, so I can actually wear it more than an hour or so.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

