subtle red smoky eye

I think after yesterday’s eyesore bright, I made myself crave something comparatively tame!  This glows with shimmer, but other than that, is fairly normal.  If you ignore the amount of beauty restraint rules I’m breaking.  I usually ignore those though.  Yes, i KNOW i used red lips, eyes AND cheeks.  Yes I know I used strong lips and strong eyes.  Yes, I KNOW that’s a crapton of frost, and mascara. And I prefer it that way!

I have issues though, with the density of Nylon in the inner corner.  It REALLY glows.  Even AFTER blending it down. I love this shade, but it can be difficult to control.  I originally used my Buxom lashliner in Sequins, but I have sadly reached the conclusion that sequins is a flop.  The glitter never shows up, and the eyeliner applies streaky as anything, and its hard to get it opaque!  Nothing like Leatherette or Blue Velvet at all!  I’m incredibly disappointed.  So of course, I went over it with Leatherette, and it looks MUCH better. My favorite thing about this look is the lips.  MUFE aqua cream ROCKS as a lipliner!  I spent a good long time attempting to see how many tacky lip marks I could leave on the poor boyfriends face before the lips would fade or smear, and between the MUFE cream, and a matte lipstick, I STILL have classic red lips.  And the man has a stained face. Bwahahaha.

I’m debating whether I’ll recreate this for Independence day.  Its a little vintage, a little dramatic, a little themed(It’s about the closest to a holiday theme you’ll get from me), and it probably wouldn’t earn my TOO many stares from anyone happening to see it.

This look continues my ongoing ode to Star Violet, which sat in my collection for…. two years(?) untouched before I randomly realized how much I like using it. Oh, the joys of a VERY large cosmetics stash!

Eyes

Urban Decay Primer POtion

MUFE Light Pink Aqua cream color-LIGHTLY pat a layer onto the lower lid

MUFE Warm Beige aqua cream color-blend over top to soften pink base

MAC Star Violet-crease, outer lower lashline

Fyrinnae Kamikaze-outer corner

Urban Decay Scandal-lower lid

MAC Nylon-inner corner, inner lower lashline

MAC Expensive Pink-blend a little into the center of the lower lashline

MAC Naked Lunch-blend above crease to soften

MAC vanilla-highlight

Layer Exceptionnel de chanel and Diorshow mascara

Buxom Lashliner in Leatherette-line upper lashline

Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Rockstar-lower waterline
Cheeks

MAC Gleeful

MAC Cream color in Pearl-highlight

Lips

MUFE Red Aqua cream-line and fill in lips

MAC Lady Danger-apply over top.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 07:04:54

    STUNNING! I love how you paired the lips with a rose eyeshadow,,,most people do brown or black

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Sep 09, 2010 @ 16:15:04

      Variety is the spice of life. I am in love with eyecatching BRIGHT eyeshadows, so I don’t wear my bright lipsticks as often as my bright eyecolors. I like doing things like this that incorporate an unusual color with a bright lipstick. And this reddish color is an AWESOME one for bringing out someones eyes. I adore Kamikaze!

      Reply

  2. Helena (xoxo Parisky)
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 05:23:39

    Such a great combo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

