Experimental Firebird look

Why?  Because I’ve had Stravinsky stuck in my head all night.  Which also explains the flashbacks to one of my old dance teachers lecturing us on classical ballet stage contouring tricks for eyeliner wings.  Obviously, this isn’t even remotely suited for THAT  situation, but I kept a few of the principles and used the color scheme for the song in my head.  I love classical music.

Eyes

MAC Bare Canvas

MUFE Aqua cream in Red-outer half of lower lid

MUFE Aqua cream in Fuchsia-inner half of lower lid

Blend together with a fingertip.

SMH Flare for the dramatic-outer 1/3

MUFE 26-inner corner lower lashline, and upper lashline, blending towards red

Fyrinnae Avenging Salem-crease

Urban Decay Crash-blend above crease to soften

MAC Wintersky-above crash to soften further

MAC Sweet lust-highlight

Exceptionnel De Chanel mascara

Buxom Lashliner in Sequins-line upper lashline and lower waterline.  Wing lower lashline out from outer corner, make two paralell tic marks to the first.  Fill them in, and fill in a small triangle between the wings, and the lashline, to soften the angle. Wing another line upward at outer corner along angle of lower lashes, adn fill in along the base of the upper lashes

SEphora white eyeliner-lightly fill in the outer wing for a touch of contrast

Glue a rhinestone(I used an orange diamond shape) in the outer corner

Cheeks

MAC Azalia blossom

MAC cream color in Pearl-highlight

Lips

MUFE Aqua cream in Red-fill in the entire lips.

MAC Cyber-line lips, smudging inward a little bit.

Fyrinnae Acidic Cherry Lip Lustre-apply to outer lower lip, and smudge inward to further soften

Pat a bit of MUFE Aqua cream in Fuchsia in the center of the lower lip, blending slightly.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 02:56:57

    Yeeeees, spiky lower lashes ftw! Also, pink + red = true love.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jun 29, 2010 @ 18:48:05

      Thanks! The spiked lashes could have been more precise- I need to refine that technique on me! I think the overall look was a bit overkill, and I nearly gave up and scrubbed it off a few times. That said, I LOVE how it photographed, and I’m so proud of the image that has now been edited into my avatar-thingy. My inner attention whore LOVES the complexity and sheer tackyness of this!

      Reply

  2. thecandiedmango
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 02:04:28

    Tacky is the new beautiful, doncha know.
    **Warning: this link is themed around marriage, but the general message can be applied to errthing.
    http://offbeatbride.com/2008/07/tacky

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jun 30, 2010 @ 19:03:26

      Ahahaha that’s AWESOME! That makes me feel a bit better. I keep looking at my favorite looks like “Woooooo I used mismatching colors, bright eyes AND lips, overkill rhinestones and eyeliner detail, and I’m wearing a vintage 70’s victorian inspired dress. with high-heeled bunny slippers! Why do i LIKE this?!”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

