Review: MUFE eyeshadows, shades 9, 149 and 26

I should have written about these a week ago, but I wanted extra time getting used to them.   I’m SO much happier with them than with the MUFE pigments I reviewed last time.  Like the pigments, these shadows are totally matte.  Very well pigmented, and they blend pretty easily.  I’ve already done several looks using these.

I think my favorite thing about MUFE, is that they are INTENDED for pro use in palettes.  You can keep the original cases intact, just pull the shadow out of the magnetic spot with a fingernail, and save the case to move it back into if you need to carry a smaller palette. These are bigger than MAC shadows, so if you use MAC Palettes, you’ll need to remove the insert, or have extra space in the Blush palettes. I remove my inserts anyways, so this wasn’t a big deal, although I wish they were the same size, for ease of organizing.  You DO need to put a magnet on the pan as MAC Palettes aren’t magnetized the way the MUFE palettes are. MAC puts the magnet on the shadows, MUFE puts it in the pan.  Either way works, I guess.

All of these apply very true-to-pan color, and blend pretty easily. This was nice, after the difficulty I had working with their Pure Pigments. They are also listed as powder blushes, and the larger pan size makes sense in that context, since its a good size for dipping a blush brush into, and both the pink and lavender are easy to build up, apply sheerly, blend, and are LOVELY on the face.  I love a good multipurpose product!

There’s really no reason to work with them wet, which is good, since they don’t work well wet. There’s no extra shimmers to bring out, or chalky colors to intensify.

9-lavender–This lavender reads a bit pinker than I usually think of lavender, in the pan, but it is very blendable, and applies much cooler toned.

149-chartreuse/lime green–This is a pretty leafy yellowed green, but it still has enough cool tones in it to be very versatile.

26-fuchsia–this is lighter than the lines other fuchsia and hot pink colors, and cooler toned.  I would have described it as a bubblegum pink, rather than a true fuchsia.

Here’s swatches!

First for is  bare, second row is over Urban Decay Primer Potion, third is Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

