(very) experimental impressionist eye

Does anyone even WANT the product list for this?  I can tell you now, you WON”T want to replicate it.  I like fussy makeup, and even I wanted to throw up my hands and yell at it.

Say it with me.  NEVER AGAIN.

Really though, I guess the eyes came out about how I envisioned them.  See?

Side note-if anyone likes seeing the sketches, for looks that I’ve made them in advance, please let me know. I’m happy to attach them to new looks, or dig them up for old ones.  Most of them have color labels, though this one doesn’t.  Those, of course, may have substitutions for the final look since I sketch these when i don’t have my makeup nearby to actually SEE.  How many darn names do I have memorized?

MAC Painterly

Buxom Lashliner in Blue Velvet-using a THIN brush, do outer wing, and sketch top of cut-crease.

Soften that with Urban Decay Goddess

Blend out with MAC Vanilla

Do that ABOVE all crease lines, and eye lines, for contrast

Next, fill in lids with tiny specks of Fyrinnae Kitten in Heels and Sennyo(inner corner, both of them), MUFE Turquise Aqua cream color(middle) MUFE Intense Blue Cream Color-outer corner, blending the colors by putting flecks of them in other colors.

APply mascara and line waterline with Buxom Lashliner.

Apply a triangle of black “rhinestones” to the corner of the wing

Cheeks

MUFE Aqua cream color in Pink

Lips

Line lips with MUFE Aqua cream color in Intense Blue

Fleck lips with MUFE Aqua cream color in Turquoise and Fuchsia

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 02:10:09

    I really like the darker line around the edge of the outer and inner corners; it reminds me of a cartoon, with the darker outline holding the colors in shape.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jul 02, 2010 @ 15:47:28

      Thanks. I still like this in concept—I just think it might be easier to apply properly to someone else, to get it more precise. I love contrasting different textures, and saturations of color for things, so doing random things like this is usually fun. This one was just more finicky than usual, owing to the difficulty getting the dots even, and bright. I used an eyeliner brush, and they kept splitting, or accumulating product higher on the ferrule. Plus, the MUFE creams are thicker than the types of paint you use for that type of work, and require more “swiping” to adhere. This might turn out better with *gasp* watercolor pencil. That’s what I grew up with anyways, and it makes SPECTACULAR face paint, and works well with a lot of techniques. If i still owned a decent set, you’d probably see me doing even MORE crazy costume stuff just because its so easy to work with!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

