experimental aquamarine eye of the day

Not thrilled with how this came out.  Plus, that flaky glitter ITCHED.  Between THAT, and the price, and the fact that it can’t be used on lids(the shape doesn’t conform, so it just flakes off, even with sticky bases, if you blink too much)  You’ll notice the glitter beginning to fall on my eyelid, in a few of the pictures I took later in the process.

Pardon my laziness here.  its been a  LONG day at work, its approaching 90 degrees, and my skin has been tender and sore with that time in the hormonal cycle.  So I thought a full face of foundation was a bad idea.  Hence going ALL OUT on one eye, and skipping hte rest of the face.

I think i could do it better. my eyeliner details are still a bit smudged. I think a proper liquid liner would work better than my favorite gel liner for this stuff.

And this is it after a bit of photoshop, cleaning up some ickiness, and an out of place brow hair.  I’m DEFINITELY an editing newbie.  I’d be lost if i couldn’t just yell at the man in the next room, “How do i get it to select the lashes but not THAT Lash?!” and random stuff like that.

Eyes

Urban Decay Primer Potion

MAC Winkle-crease

MAC Electric Eel-lower lid

MAC Aquadisiac-inner corner, inner lower lashline

Urban Decay Jinx-apply over crease to soften

Urban Decay Goddess-outer corner, outer lower lashline

MAC Gesso-highlight.  Blend with top of crease.

Buxom Lashliner in Blue Velvet-apply to upper lashline and lower waterline.  Add filled in “wings” around crease, filling in with diamonds in between, concentrating in the outer corner.

I used MUFE Aqua Cream in Warm Beige to lightly trace between the wings, for contrast.

Apply a teeny amount of carmex below the lower lashline.  Pat a TEENY amount of it above the crease.  Brush Sally’s Beauty Supply dark blue glitter lightly over it, and apply teeny amounts of Art Supplies nail glitter in Blue Ice below eye, and around start of eyeliner spikes.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 03:32:15

    YES PLEASE! I love the shattered glass-looking bits; they remind me of rock candy.
    Don’t feel bad about being busy/tired. It seems like summer is busier than the rest of the year sometimes, you know? People just want to cram everything in (work, vacation, chillin, fun) because it’s summer–the days are longer, so you should be able to get more done, right?
    Right?

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jul 10, 2010 @ 22:14:25

      Thanks! I liked the textures in this for close ups, though it was REALLY busy in person, and even for “full face” stuff(if I’d done both eyes.

      I do like the textures, and don’t mind using nail glitter for photography though. Definitely would avoid wearing it longer than needed, and I don’t consider it a pretty effect for in person viewings. Doesn’t wear well enough, itches, and you have the risk of it scratching the eye area, since its not an “eye safe” glitter.

      Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jul 11, 2010 @ 14:26:08

      Heh. Vacation is a delirium dream. Both the man and I work full time, and pretty much every length of time we aren’t working, we’re cleaning, or cooking for work, or doing lawn care. I’m a bit disgusted at how little I’ve gotten done. Not surprising though, since I’ve not been feeling right for few weeks. And “right” for me is VERY relative, with my health issues. I’m usually pushing somewhere on the threshold of my pain tolerance. It’s just a question of how fuddled i am with it.I feel like i’ve been in a fog the past few weeks, perforated by muscle spasms, joint pain, headaches, and shakiness. It just makes me feel like i HAVE to force myself into being more productive to compensate.

      Reply

  2. pumpkincat210
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 08:19:12

    This is very pretty! I have some of those shards in holographic silver, I might try something like this 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 09, 2010 @ 08:55:15

      Silver? OOooooh! I have blue, red, and iridescent. I’d love to find it in silver, though. I bet that would be gorgeous! Maybe use a touch of a blue-steel like Fyrinnae’s Robot Takeover for the eye underneath to pull some color in with the black spike’s? If you end up trying this, let me know how it comes out! I’d love to see!

      Reply

      • pumpkincat210
        Aug 09, 2010 @ 12:59:52

        sally beauty has several colors in the nail art section.

      • dolcearia
        Aug 09, 2010 @ 13:28:47

        Funny you should say that-that’s where I got mine! I think I may have been at a teeny one though, with less selection. My neck of the woods is NOT exactly the most high demand for beauty stuff. I have to drive around 40 minutes to see a freestanding sephora.

  3. pumpkincat210
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 01:17:32

    I also bought some small black holographic stars for nails there too. I think most Sally’s are very small. There are a ton in Houston and all are just 3 aisles or so. Pearl stickers or gems are cool to use too, they are inexpensive and you can find them at michael’s or hobby stores and of course online.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 10, 2010 @ 15:04:36

      I’ve been thinking about looking for the stars sparkles. I bought a few wheels of nail rhinestones online, since my place really DID have limited options, and was more expensive.

      In my teens, I had some of those star sparkles, that I LOVED. So fun, to just stick one at the corner of the eye, or maybe a few on the lips….. I don’t use those sorts of crazy details as often as I’d like, but I DO love them!

      Reply

      • pumpkincat210
        Aug 13, 2010 @ 09:10:03

        I used the shards! See my newest blog post for the picture!

      • dolcearia
        Aug 13, 2010 @ 15:40:01

        Just popped over there! That must have been fun to wear! It’s hard seeing the details of the silver sparkle, but they show up gorgeously with the textures you stenciled on!

  4. pumpkincat210
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 18:51:43

    I added a closer picture. It’s hard to take extreme closeups at night with my camera, the lens casts a shadow when the flash goes off and darkens the picture, so i have to use a styrofoam bowl to diffuse the flash 😦

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 13, 2010 @ 20:26:00

      A styrofoam bowl? I’d love to know that trick! I’ve discovered that I can do it decently if I sit in the bathtub and lean back, put the camera on the right side of my head, far enough down that it doesn’t cast a shadow… The colors are still wonky and it’s shakier, but it’s the best I’ve been able to do for night time makeup shots.

      At any rate, I can’t wait to see the shot!

      Reply

      • pumpkincat210
        Aug 15, 2010 @ 10:01:06

        get a styrofoam bowl, they are so cheap, and trace around the
        lens, cut out the circle on the bowl and place it around the lens tube. It will diffuse the light. I find the best place to take pictures is inside near a window that has sun, with the camera setting on “cloudy”. hth!

      • dolcearia
        Aug 15, 2010 @ 11:17:19

        Yep, that’s the setting I usually keep my camera on. It works anytime except a REALLY sunny afternoon. May have to try the bowl thing though-I’ve never heard of that!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

