Vintage daytime look.

I’m fairly uninspired today.  And too tired for anything complex, though I may try again later.  So I just did a simple look for farmers marketing, and gadding about town with the boyfriend and dog.

Standard, mid 50s inspired daily look. No mascara or waterline/lower lashline contouring, classic red lips.  Nothing special.  But it IS fun to wear with my nice dresses.

Eyes

MAC Bare Canvas

Cargo Dare to Play bronzey champagne-crease

Cargo Dare to Play ivory shimmer-lower lid

MAC naked lunch-above crease

MAC Vanilla-highlight

Buxom Lashliner in Leatherette-upper lashline ONLY

Sephora eyeliner in White-lower lashline LIGHTLY

Benefit Bad Gal mascara-upper lashline ONLY

CHeeks

MAC Brit wit

MAC cream color in Pearl-highlight

Lips

MAC brave red

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 00:46:30

    Red lips = the bomb diggy shiz.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jul 20, 2010 @ 20:11:08

      Thanks! I always get so caught up in the eyes, that I forget that I LOVE the look of classic red lips. Instant confidence in a tube.

      Reply

      • thecandiedmango
        Jul 20, 2010 @ 21:16:22

        Agree! I think this applies to pretty much every strong lipcolor; lips are truly neglected facial features.

      • dolcearia
        Jul 20, 2010 @ 21:30:46

        Especially for us make up nerds—the eyes TRULY are the palette. It’s really easy to forget the rest of the face that DOESN”T get extravagant colors, and contours, and textures, and finishes. I think a lot of women who are more pedestrian about makeup are afraid of it because when you get red WRONG, everyone knows it. And the women who have the expertise to pull it off are more concerned over the rest of the face. I know that’s how it is with me, anyways. It’s hard remembering the effect, when I’m brainstorming the new eyeshadow I bought, and that color I’ve been obsessing with, and is that blending just right? There’s so many teeny little parts that go into nice eye makeup, that it IS easy to just flash through the rest of the face without another thought.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

