Focus On: MAC Nylon

We’ll try something new tonight.

Focus On is a work in progress. Have you ever talked yourself out of buying a product because the color was too odd, and you wondered how often you would really be able to use it? Or, you know those colors you LOVE because of some hidden versatility that you never imagined when you bought it? I do that ALL of the time. In the interests of loving what I HAVE, and learning its limitations, rather than relying on the influx of new colors, I will be doing this post every Saturday, focusing on a new color from my collection, with examples of past work, ideas for other uses. Please feel free to suggest colors you wish to see, or uses for the ones listed, or let me know what your favorites are for future posts.

In swatch(over Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy), this appears to be a frosty white.  In actuality, there’s slightly more of an ivory tone to it, and a gold pearl.

Nylon goes on VERY frosty, and opaquely pigmented.  For that reason, it looks PHENOMINAL placed in the inner eyes.

For highlights, use a MUCH fluffier brush, to diffuse it.(apologies for the color being off in other pictures on that post.  I haven’t gotten to fix it yet, but I made the mistake of color correcting for my monitors old broken color settings. Ugh)


Apply over a colored base to bring out the shimmer

Apply over a colored base, ONLY in the inner tear area, for a soft highlight

With neutral looks with minimal shimmer or frost, lightly smudge a little bit along the lower lashline to open the eyes.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 09:24:54

    I love the “focus on” concept! Hope to see more! 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jul 20, 2010 @ 19:51:18

      Thanks! Right now, my plan is to have that be a weekly thing posted sometime Saturday after midnight. I have maybe 6 in progress already, plus another 4 or so that I haven’t started compiling the looks for. I was hoping it would be something different, for all involved. It has certainly been good for me to focus on making the most of the colors in my collection, and I hope it will be interesting, as it gets on, for people to have ideas or inspiration with it, or to decide if it’s a color they could get that kind of versatility with, themselves!

      I’ve been trying to weed out my most unusual colors-the ones with unusual pearls, duochromes, different ways of blending, or the ones that change the most over other colors. It certainly IS entertaining for me!

      Please feel free to chime in with colors you recommend, or any looks you’ve done with Nylon, or (in the future) other colors I’ve picked!

      Reply

  2. pumpkincat210
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 00:21:36

    Nylon is so pretty! It’s such a bright highlighter color and goes with nearly everything. I think i’m going to use it tonight.

    Reply

  3. dolcearia
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 00:48:05

    I don’t use it as much as I ought to, but then, I HATE shimmery highlights, unless they’re REALLY diffused. I have scars on my brow bones, that catch the light and make it look like there’s an actual fold, right on the inner corner of my brow bone, if i use too shimmery of a highlight. It’s a GREAT color though, and definitely one of the more accessible duochromes. I must think of something else to do with it now. It’s been a while since I originally posted this.

    Reply

  4. pumpkincat210
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 03:42:34

    Nylon looks neat on the inner corner of your eyes and also as a lower lid color if you pick the right top lid colors. Nylon is especially pretty to me with purples or cornflower blues.

    Reply

  5. dolcearia
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 03:47:53

    I used to use it a lot doing cateyes. Nylon on the lower lid, matte neutrals in teh crease, and winged liner. I liked it there, but usually I’m a bit overwhelmed by the finish, so i back out of pairing it with other bright colors. It really made the contour of the liner have more depth, though, with teh rich shine of Nylon on the lid….. I think I may have been too embarrassed by my old 20s style arched brows to copy the image in here, though. I’m not sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

