arabic inspired eggplant smoky eye with double winged liner

Not thrilled.  Shimmer shadows don’t look good that far below my waterline, though I wanted a more diffused falloff for the merlot shadow.  Really, I don’t think I’m usually thrilled with the results when I use these sorts of earthy purples.  Just not really my style.

Eyes

Sketch in eyeliner wings with Buxom Lashliner in Sequins-follow curve of lower lashes, and do a parallel line right below

MAC Bare Canvas

Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy

Fyrinnae Mephisto-outline a sharp crease from the liner

Cargo Dare to Play palette-merlot–fill in area between crease and outer corner towards middle of lid. Also, below lower wing and lashline

Fyrinnae Meercat-fill in inner corner to blend with merlot shadow

Cargo Dare to Play palette-ballet pink shimmer-blend above crease to soften, and below lower wing to soften

MAC Vanilla-highlight

Sephora eyeliner in Ivory Pearl-fill in area between wings

Tap MAC Nylon shadow over it, to set liner, and for contrast with wings

Darken and sharpen wings, and upper lashline with Buxom Lashliner in Sequins

Benefit Bad Gal mascara

Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Rockstar-lower waterline

Cheeks

MAC Brit wit

MAC Prism-contour

MAC Cream color in Pearl-highlight

Lips

Fyrinnae Ryu Pinko

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 00:49:20

    Purple + blue eyes = YEEEES!
    Makes your eyes look more of a teal color, very nice, yes?

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jul 20, 2010 @ 20:23:54

      I still stand by my earlier opinion regarding purple eye shadows. I wasn’t entirely happy with this, though I don’t know what I wish I’d done differently.

      I’ve kind of given up noticing what makes my eyes look what. They have a weird mix-y color that matches pretty much everything. There’s few combination’s that I really notice them looking dull in. Purples are awesome, though, for bringing out the color in pretty much anyone’s eyes, so it wouldn’t surprise me if it had a pretty effect.

      Purple is just a sort of magic universally flattering color! I usually just prefer to mix it with other colors, rather than using an entirely purple color palette. Not sure why.

      Reply

      • thecandiedmango
        Jul 20, 2010 @ 21:15:41

        I agree with your statement regarding everyone looking good in purple. It’s just so drastically different from typical eyecolors that it kind of offsets everything.

        Purple seems to go well with just about any color. It’s the best/worst love/hate relationship.

      • dolcearia
        Jul 20, 2010 @ 21:28:03

        Well, the reddish tones bring out the warmer tones in most eyes, the blue tones keep it wearable for most skin tones. It’s not a HARSH color theory contrast, like red shadow with green eyes. Its a more subtle effect, and the purple is a color that naturally occurs on our skin, so it’s not as harsh as a straight brown. It’s classic!

        I am developing an obsession with the “right” way to do purple. I WILL make a purple look i am genuinely happy with. I just don’t know when.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

