Review: Philosophy Cinnamon Buns shimmer lotion

I always feel a little silly writing about fragrances or lotions, since I know comparatively little about either.  I do love this one, though, and the scent is simple enough to where I don’t feel like I’m bluffing through it.

Admittedly, I haven’t used this as much as I thought I would.  I’m not very good about remembering things, so it usually sees use when I’m not feeling well, and I want the soothing smell.  It has that delightful sweet cinnamon aroma that has more akin to culinary uses, than to aromatherapy oil.  Beneath that heavier cinnamon note is a sweet smell that really DOES smell like buns in the oven!  The shimmer is really pretty, and soft, as well.  It looks gorgeous on the decolletage, on my skin tone.  Darker tones might want to use it more sparingly, if you are using it actually for the shimmer as well as the fragrance.   The shimmer spreads pretty evenly-I don’t notice streaks, or clumpy patches, though I think most of it DOES stay on the hands.

The smell doesn’t linger very long.  I might notice a hint of it after a few hours, but the actual complete fragrance fades after maybe a half hour.  The cinnamon notes last  the longest, which doesn’t bother me.

It doesn’t give me a headache, when used sparingly, and it fades soon enough that even if I DO use too much, I don’t get as severe of a headache as with a true perfume.

It absorbs fairly quickly, and doesn’t leave a sticky residue on the skin.  I don’t know that I’ve noticed it as being particularly moisturizing, but then there’s few dry patches for me to really test it on. My skins texture feels the same as when I don’t use it.  So if you have skin that needs something strong for moisturizing or softening, this may not be what you want.

It’s a very pleasant product, though, and I like that it’s not an overly “girly” smell, so the boyfriend doesn’t mind having it on his hands either.  I don’t think he “likes” it, but it’s still more bearable than some of the other beauty products I use.

A little goes a long way,  of this, and I’ve used less than HALF of the bottle.  I’ve had it longer than I care to admit, and it’s still decently fresh, although the shimmer separates a bit as it ages.

This is it, on the skin!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

