Review: Tarte Lip Stain(matte) in Lively

The Tarte lip stain’s are kind of a cult classic, that I had not worked with.  I was trying some new things, though, and said why not?  From my understanding, the original tones tended to be shimmery-er, and maybe a bit sheerer.  Seeing their popularity, Tarte released a companion line of Matte texture shades.  Here’s my thoughts on Moody, from the original line.

These seemed to be a bit more opaque, and a shade dryer, than the original finish.  Very matte though, and there were some lovely colors!  I tried Lively, a BRIGHT fuchsia/magenta, that appears more coral/true pink in photos. It seems to be darker, and more of a true purple, than many of the fuchsia’s I own, in natural light.

It has the same peppermint smell as the original, that fades quickly after application, and it still feels like a standard chapstick.  It applies much smoother than some of the liquid based stains I’ve tried from MAC and Urban Decay, and I did not find it difficult to get a flat, opaque coat. Despite the matte texture, it did not sink into drying lip lines the way a matte lipstick often will.  It was actually surprisingly soft on my fairly bitten/rough/dry lips.  I was quite impressed!  Look at how smooth they look in my swatches!

It wore a surprisingly long time!  3 Hours after application, my lips felt a little dry, and my boyfriend noticed faint wear around the corner of my mouth.  5 hours later, they felt unnaturally dry, but the pigment was still even, and intact otherwise. I could have easily thrown a coat of chapstick on over it at that point, and still had vibrant lips!  Around the 8 hour mark, it had faded to a dusky fuchsia stain that still looked even, and intentional.  No weird patches in lip lines, darker areas around dry skin, etc.  I was very happy with it!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pumpkincat210
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 01:02:28

    That’s an excellent finish. I am not sure if the color would work on me, but that is just camera/monitor crap! It looks like it’s your natural lip, nothing added but color. Ilike.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 17, 2010 @ 06:17:37

      It’s REALLY gorgeous in person. All of the colors are very dense, so none of the nude shades are right for my skin. But I prefer the flashy reds, fuchsias anyways. It’s a very easy way for a wearable bright color! No more drying than chapstick, and I really DO prefer the matte finish to the more sheer original ones.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

