Review: Urban Decay Lip stain in Envious

This has been in my stash forever.  I wanted to review it, since I’ve been playing with a few other lip stains this week, and I like to compare.  There’s only two colors.  Envious, a rich pinky-fuchsia, and Greedy, a deep dark berry.

At one point, I sat down and wondered “Why are there only two shades of Urban decay’s Lip Stain?  I mean, it’s not like there’s a PILE of lip stains on the market”.

Why?  Because it’s not that great of a product.

Envious is a BEAUTIFUL color, and it’s nice being able to layer it up to four times, for neutral pink, to opaque fuchsia.  But it applies VERY unevenly, and doesn’t set for a while after application.  Applying each layer carefully, and waiting, you’ll STILL see color move the first time your lips touch.  You can apply a clear gloss overtop to smooth it out a bit.  But that is still an irritating fix to have to make.  And it only does so much for repairing the streaks.  Even after exfoliating my lips, I STILL end up with it sinking in lines and rough patches.  It doesn’t really dry my lips further, but it REALLY emphasizes the flaws I have!

Look at the swatches!

On my hand.

One coat

Two coats

Three coats

Four coats

Four coats + Fyrinnae’s Shangri La lip lustre

So, it CAN be very very pretty in practice….. But I can get the same results from a Tarte Lip Stain for only marginally more money, and a LOT less headache.  I see why Urban Decay never created more than two colors.  Greedy didn’t seem to be as wearable a shade as Envious, unless you have a REALLY deep cool skin tone.

I HATE the way this feels on the lips.  It has a “cooling” taste that numbs my lips mildly, and makes me think of cold-sore treatment. By the time I get four coats, my lips feel like I spent the day at the dentists.  It has a faint sweet note when you get the courage to lick your lips, but still tastes like anesthetic.

This has the same container design as their Liquid Liners, but it’s a bit bigger.  They give you a good amount of product, and with a doefoot applicator, the screws being on the INSIDE of the container doesn’t seem as dangerous as the Liners. Mine hasn’t dried out, or spilled.  So the packaging is over all quite functional.

Envious DOES stay on the lips a good amount of time.  A natural coat will probably keep you for 4-5 hours.  For the more opaque thicker layers, you’ll need more touch ups around 2-4 hours, depending the type of gloss it’s worn with.

Here’s product photos.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dee
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 13:44:24

    I definitely agree this is NOT a good product. Just wanted to point out that there were at least four colors in a marker-type applicator that were available around 2002. I DO miss the Pleather Pencils though.
    P.S. I really enjoy your reviews. Great job!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jun 01, 2011 @ 13:54:28

      Around 2002, I REALLY didn’t see as much makeup as I do now. I’ve seem LE lip stain releases from MAC in at least two other collections in the years since, but I freely admit that my first horrid experience with this has soured me on lip stains in general. It doesn’t help that I chew my lips/cheeks when I’m fidgety, so even after exfoliation, NO lip stain will apply evenly to my lips. The center areas absorb SO much more because it’s chewed away. I still prefer the smoother application and thinner texture of Tarte lip stains. I’ve decided that overall, this isn’t a product type suited to my needs.

      I REALLY need to stop chewing my lips.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

