Neil Gaiman’s Sandman inspired Death makeup

Yeah. I’m a nerd.  And of all the things I find pretty, I always love seeing the interesting makeup details drawn into Death’s character.  I probably have five different sketches done incorporating various different designs for the character.  I did several looks this weekend, and was sad that I never got up the motivation to do something costume-y.    I’ve had variations of this sketched out for months, and I finally just did it my own way.

The decision to make this one bright was…. last minute….  I just thought, why not?  And I added a few tic marks betwen the eyeliner detailing, reminescent of wing feathers.  Could have come out worse, could have come out better. It really is kinda painful putting this kind of makeup on yourself.

I may edit this after the boyfriend has time to help me edit images.  This photographed nicely, but I’d like to try to play with photoshop for something slightly more finished looking.  I may get a new camera later this week, with a stabilized zoom and macro. I really shouldn’t spend the money, but the jitter to a lot of my images is mainly due to my cheaping out last time I went camera shopping.  I repaired it once, under warrantee, but that’s gone now and it’s showing signs of the same problem repeating.  So I can try to nurse it along until it REALLY breaks, or i can buy a new camera while the one that looked good is on sale, and use this as my backup.  I’m tired of my stuff being slightly out of focus.

Update-still no time to attempt creative image editing, but the lovely LolliTragic, on Makeupgeek did a very nice one that encompassed a good chunk of what I wanted to try, and cleaned it up a bit. I’ll still try it myself, but in the meantime, I’m really pleased to have inspiration for where to go wtih it from here!  To avoid cluttering front page, image is right below the cut.

Eyes

Urban Decay Primer POtion

MUFE Aqua cream in Intense blue-lower lid

MAC Club-crease, outer lower lashline

Fyrinnae Robot Takeover-above crease to soften

MAC Moons reflection-blend over crease to soften further.

MAC Gesso-highlight

Fyrinnae Parental Advisory-apply over lower lid

Fyrinnae Sleepy Hollow-outer corner

NARS RAted R duo-blue-inner corner, inner lower lashline

Sephora cream liner in THe Deep End-lower waterline

Buxom lashliner in Blue Velvet-upper lashline

Detailing-make three tic marks at a sharp angle outward along lower lashline with Urban Decay Liquid Liner in Minx.  Using The Deep End, shade in inner corners of the initial shapes.  In center tic mark with Minx, take it down i an extended loop, just beginning to spiral. Fill in as needed.  Going straight out from outer corner of eye, make another tic mark.  Sweep it out up, and down, from a point to make the trumpet-horn shape. Fill that in, and clean up with a q tip and makeup remover, as needed.

Finish skin.

Pat MUFE Aqua cream in Turquoise over lips

Fill in outline of lips with MAC Cyber, and press inward to blend and soften, over blue.

Put a little Fyrinnae Ryunome lip lustre over the center of the lip to deepend color, and lightly blend towards purple.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 03:00:16

    Oh, lord, I loved reading the Sandman books in high school. Gaiman is so talented as an artist and a story teller.
    I like that you chose blue; I think she’d enjoy that.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 29, 2010 @ 00:45:58

      I think it was in one of the earlier Lucifer sets, where the little ghost is talking about seeing a woman(Death) following her, and Elaine says “Pretty, GREAT eyeshadow?” or something to that effect? That always amused me. The black and white gives her a nice contrast to the other characters illustrations, so I thought it would be fun to reverse it for real life. You know, rather than the very flat, monochrome gothic aesthetic, incorporating the graphic elements with a very bright, very friendly blue….(And I have an obsession with Parental Advisory over black primer).

      I think the issue i’ve had with other attempts stemmed from the monochrome appearing too harsh and flat to have the intended effect. I like the blue MUCH better.
      And yeah, I’m a mythology nerd, so I LOVE The sandman things. THere’s so many awesome things for a smart person to piece together!
      <——big Gaiman NERD.

      Reply

      • thecandiedmango
        Aug 29, 2010 @ 13:04:49

        Pulling off a stark black+white look is difficult in the real world; comic characters tend to have more defined features (since they ARE drawn on), so they can work the harsh looks to their hearts’ content.

        And Gaiman is a hero. He’s just so freaking good at what he does, sneaking in millions of tiny details and making it seem so easy.

      • dolcearia
        Aug 29, 2010 @ 13:55:11

        Also, there’s not a huge amount of realism with the actual characters skin tones, so it’s easy to have that white skin look natural. Even with w hite pancake, a real person has so many other shades come through, a very subtle undertone, blue in the shadows, etc. that make it clash with the monochrome makeup.

        Have you seen Mike Carey’s Lucifer? It’s very muchin the vein of Sandman, and uses some of the similar plot twists, but is, overall, quite interesting. Those two are my absolute favorite graphic novels, though Art Speiglemans Maus and Alan Moores Watchmen and Mike Mignola’s Hellboy are right up there in the list….

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

