Focus On: MAC Expensive Pink

Focus On is a work in progress. Have you ever talked yourself out of buying a product because the color was too odd, and you wondered how often you would really be able to use it? Or, you know those colors you LOVE because of some hidden versatility that you never imagined when you bought it? I do that ALL of the time. In the interests of loving what I HAVE, and learning its limitations, rather than relying on the influx of new colors, I will be doing this post every Saturday, focusing on a new color from my collection, with examples of past work, ideas for other uses. Please feel free to suggest colors you wish to see, or uses for the ones listed, or let me know what your favorites are for future posts.

MAC Expensive pink is a particularly fun color-and an easy way to approach oranges and corals, for the color shy.  It has a pretty golden frost to it, and a rich coral/pink base.

Pair with wines and yellows to keep a perfectly balanced pink with a hint of coral.

Pair with neutral browns for a VERY subtle coral.

Over a creamy gold base, with warmer purples and reds, Expensive Pink softens, and brings up a gold shimmer

Use it for a crease contour, with soft golds and a salmon pink, for a subtly bright eye.

Paired with mossy greens or olives, the pink shines through.

And lets not forget about the power of complementary colors to make the orange stand out!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pumpkincat210
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 00:20:04

    i like to pair it with swish, sounds odd but it comes out to a really pretty color that is kind of unexplainable.

    Reply

  2. dolcearia
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 00:53:15

    I have to try that now! I have swish, but haven’t gotten my use out of it because of my love for the overdone, as far as pinks go. I keep reaching for it, and then I change my mind and use UD Woodstock, or MUFE Fuchsia instead. It’s very pretty…. just not as neon as I want it to be. That combination sounds gorgeous though, and I can see it. I think when the Color Forecast collection came out, I did a coral-and-fuchsia eye using Stars N Rockets, some of the limited edition colors(hothothot, and perky), and a touch of Swish, that was quite lovely. I don’t remember, though. I’d have to dig it up on here. Hooray for having an archive of all your looks!

    I bet the gold pearl would look beautiful with swish, having a frosty white finish. Nice little contrast, but easy to blend and soften. What would you use in the crease with that? Just do it totally bright, or use a smoky color like Sketch?

    Reply

  3. pumpkincat210
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 02:44:26

    If you actually layer swish and expensive pink it comes out to a very strange color, almost purple, at least on my skin. It would look very good with stars n rockets i’d think. It also goes well with club, woodwinked, trax or amber lights..from personal experience. Vex or Motif would make good focus on topics because people never know what to wear with them. Especially Vex, since it is so strange.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Sep 05, 2010 @ 03:11:25

      Hmmm. I don’t own either! I must look them up now! I’m trying to keep as many focus on drafts in progress as I can, so it’s not just cramming in a bunch of looks at the last minute before posting…. and it’s time for me to start a new batch. I think I only have 3 or 4 in progress right now.

      Reply

  4. pumpkincat210
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 07:30:04

    Vex is really weird. It’s a light pink/green duochrome that I use normally for a highlighter. You can pair it with either pinks or greens and make the color come out more depending on the base. I think a lot of people shy away from it because it doesn’t look pretty in the pan. I’m an nc20-25 and when i swipe it on my skin it turns pink. It looks cool with other duochromes like club.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Sep 05, 2010 @ 14:22:52

      Hmmmm. That sounds like JUST my type of color. I may have to try finding some stuff to place an order for the refill pans from MAC. Unfortunately, it’s hard getting to all the freestanding MACS in the area, and I have a hard time paying for the shadow in pan, knowing i’m paying more, and am just going to depot it. Haha. Miserly FTW.

      Reply

  5. pumpkincat210
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 19:50:00

    i thought you could get refill pans at counters and online now..but i could be wrong.

    Reply

  6. dolcearia
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 22:17:24

    Online yes, counters no. I’m in a fairly suburban area, so we have a MAC Counter, that has limited selection. It’s about an hours drive to the city, plus parking downtown, to get to an actual MAC Store.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

