Review: Smashbox Photo Ops eye brightener

I got a sample of this, and was curious to try it.  I don’t think I have a particular need for an eye brightener, as I don’t have puffy bags, or discolorations, to mask. But, may as well play with it?

This is a creamy concealer-toned shimmer.  It’s fairly sheer, so I would use this AFTER your regular foundation/concealer routine.  It seemed to stay pretty well, and a little went a long way.

But I didn’t like its effect on me.  The shine created the illusion of puffiness(there is a defined curve where my cheekbones start), where there was none visible.  And it smeared the concealer I had applied under it.

I do like the effect of applying it into the inner corner of the eye, by the base of the nose, but all in all, I don’t think that it’s worth it for me.

I tried begging the boyfriend to let me test it on him, since he does have slightly more visible bags, but he has put his foot down and refused to be my Guinea pig.  He says it would look better on the dog.   That’s him for you.  Oh well. Some day I’ll find someone to test this on so I can say if it’s just my own facial structure it doesn’t work for, or if it’s horrible on others too.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

