pale rosy cat-eye

Eh, uninspired.  Testing Vex, but the pictures aren’t great. It’s bad lighting today, and I’m still a bit shaky.  I gave up trying to remove the fallout from the UD pigment I was also testing.  I think I may have to designate that stuff only usable for cheek highlight/decolletage.  I don’t know what possessed them to design the applicator the way it is.  Oh well, at least I got it on sale for $5.  I really ought to slap myself for the shaky, uneven liner.

Eyes

UD Primer Potion

MAC Vex-lower lid

MAC Swish-over outer half lower lid

UD Woodstock-outer corner

MAC Vanilla-highlight

UD Yeyo pigment-inner corner of eyelid

Benefit Bad Gal mascara

Buxom Lashliner in Leatherette-upper lashline, winging out at outer corner, and lower waterline.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 03:47:10

    When you say UD pigment, you mean the silly little tubes that come with the cruddy brushes, right? The silly applicator prevented me from ever buying them, regardless of how sparklygorgeous those colors may (or may not) have been.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Sep 30, 2010 @ 15:49:53

      Yep. The silly tubes, with the cruddy brushes!

      I got it 5$. I’d gawked at the horrid packaging and refused to swatch them, a number of times over the years. But 5$? How can I resist?

      I’m working on a full review right now, but I DO think after I’m done, I’ll end up passing this one off to a friend. I have one who LOVES glitter, and LOVES all the horrid UD shades that I growl at the fallout on. It’s too chunky of a shimmer for me to want for cheeks, and the packaging means that i CAN”T use it for eyes due to the fallout/uneven application on brush.

      Reply

      • thecandiedmango
        Sep 30, 2010 @ 19:19:57

        It would almost be easier to depot it and use a real brush, if you have any small pots lying around. I don’t know how UD always makes such fallout-y shades; other companies can do beautiful sparkly makeup without issues! Where did they go wrong?

      • dolcearia
        Sep 30, 2010 @ 19:39:34

        I don’t mind the fallout when its honest fallout. I just avoid those shades. I just have peeve after peeve with their packaging. It’s SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO unfriendly for the consumer! And bad packaging is one thing—but bad packaging that actually compromises the quality of the product?! This one makes it IMPOSSIBLE to apply, though it’s decent pigment. The Ink for Eyes has a LARGE surface area that dries it out about five times as fast as my gel liners in pots. The Lip STain and Eyeliner containers have the threads RIGHT where you pull the brush out so you’re ALWAYS getting product caught in the. The Primer Potion you can use only 1/3 of the product, because of the darn genie bottle…… I mean, that type of carelessness is pretty EPIC as far as makeup goes!

        But yeah—I was debating seeing how easy it was to depot, since the texture reminds me a LOT of the texture of fyrinnae eyeshadows. I haven’t found an easy way to do it, yet, and I’d rather give the product to someone who will love the fallout-y-ness, rather than ruin it completely trying to cut the container in half. It bears another look, anyways.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

