blackened bronze smoky eye(using Naked palette)

For some reason I’ve been on more of a smoky kick lately.  The hair is a total failure though. I hate curling my hair.  You’d never know it, but one half of my hair i have to curl TWICE and it STILL falls out twice as fast.  Darn stubborn hair.

Eyes

UD primer potion

UD Gunsmoke-outer half of lower lid

UD Toasted-middle of lid, inner lower lashline

UD Sidecar-inner corner

UD Sin-above crease to soften

UD Virgin-highlight

UD Creep-outer corner, outer lower lashline

UD 24/7 liner in Zero-lower waterline

Smashbox liner in Starstruck-upper lashline

Cheeks

MAC Prism-blush

NARS LAguna-contour/bronzer

Temptu highlight in champagne

Lips

MAC Cherish

MAC Lipglass in C Thru

Eve Pearl lipgloss in Honey Bunny.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 02:16:35

    Ooo la la! Curls and smoky eyes go together like peanut butter and bananas.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Oct 07, 2010 @ 15:40:50

      I keep wondering if I could pull offa Perm. I really DO prefer curly hair, though i think these are a bit large for my taste(I like teeny little tighter curls). Really though, it’s just because I keep trying to make hot rollers work for me, and they really DON”T last in my hair, or curl evenly at all.

      One of these days I need to break out my old teeny iron and do it the hard way to show how much better it looks. Lasts ab out twice as long too, though that only stretches to about an extra hour of prettiness.

      It’s funny. The man left for class, I went up to apply makeup. 3 hours later, he gets home, and I’ve only JUST finished curling my hair, because of all the redo’s I had to go through to get it somewhat even. SOOOOOO not worth it.

      Reply

  2. Calla
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 22:16:19

    I’m jealous that you have the right undertones to rock the Naked palette.

    I’ve been lusting over the palette and debating whether or not to make the purchase but I think I’m just too cool skinned (plus pale) to wear such warm colors.

    Is your hair naturally straight or do you have some body to it? If you’ve got a little wave to it I’d suggest trying to scrunch it with some mousse to see how it holds up.

    Reply

  3. dolcearia
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 23:46:41

    It isn’t stick straight, but it isn’t wavy. It’s just… cowlicky and frizzy.

    As for the naked palette, have you seen it in person? The shades actually have a good mix of undertones. Virgin, Buck, Sin, Toasted, Gunsmoke, Creep, and Naked are all pretty good on pink tones. The really warm shades, Half Baked, Dark Horse, and Smog, can be easily blended with the cooler shades to make them more accessible. I actually LOVE to use Half Baked sheerly, because it makes blue eyes POP, but using a fluffy brush helps it avoid being too yellowy for pinker skin.

    But yeah, I’m lucky that my skin is pretty neutral. I can make anything at pretty much either end of the spectrum work in a pinch. Most of it really DOES come down to choosing your color pairings. To pull off the warmer colors, make sure the other colors in teh look are better matched to your undertone, and it will mute it a bit. So I definitely wouldn’t advise you to go out in a half baked-smog-darkhorse smoky eye, but you’d be surprised how many of the other color combinations would work for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

