Review: Miss Dior Cherie fragrance

I think this is my first real fragrance review.  I generally don’t like writing about things I feel inexperienced in.

I’m not the most obvious choice for a fragrance consumer.  I have bothersome allergies to a lot of synthetic fragrances,and even certain natural ones give me a headache or affect my breathing.  But I got a random sample of this with some previous purchase, and decided to give it a try for a special occasion.

Surprise surprise, I LOVE it.  It’s soft enough that I don’t feel overwhelmed or headachy, it’s not musky, or synthetic, to irritate the allergies….

It’s just the perfect combination of not-too-sweet fruity smells, and not-too-old ladyish-floral smells. Sephora says there’s a note of caramelized popcorn in it.  I don’t smell it specifically, but I do believe it.

The lead smells fade within a half hour,  but I still have a pleasant fruity-floral secondary note for hours later.  It’s very subtle and relaxing.

I’ve tried finding a few similar perfumes, but so far this is Truly my favorite.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eleanor
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 05:42:09

    I love this fragrance, even though it has been derided as being too fluffy. I think it is exciting, light with some substance, and sexy.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 07, 2010 @ 16:57:04

      I think the fluffiness is my favorite part of it. Really strong smells tend to give me headaches and make me queasy or dizzy. Even similar fruit-floral blends, like Juicy coutures Juicy Juicy, DKNY Be Delicious, or Vera Wang Princess, tend to overwhelm me. The fluffiness just makes this a very subtly sexy fragrance to wear. It feels a little bit “younger” than a lot of the fragrances you see, with stronger herbal, floral, or aromatic notes. I can see where some people might not like it, but this is STILL my favorite fragrance.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

