Review: Too Faced Eye Shadow Insurance

So, this has taken the crown for my most-useful eye primer. I’ve also used Urban Decay primer Potion, and NARS Smudgeproof eyeshadow base, but this is my favorite. NARS was difficult to blend over, and the UD packaging resulted in MOST of the product getting dried up/less effective/unable to be removed from the original tube without depotting and accelerating the drying..

TFSI comes in a nice little tube,and is almost exactly the same in practice, as fresh UDPP. It’s easy enough to apply evenly, and blending overtop is pretty simple. It is still pretty creamy and sticky, but it does not hold onto brush strokes the way NARS primer does. To my eyes, TFSI has a little bit sheerer of a nude tone to it, than UDPP. It still matches my skin quite well I didn’t experience any creasing. Obviously, some color will transfer to your fingers, if you rub your eye, but the overall effect of the makeup is not significantly diminished.

Here’s a fairly rushed look I did, using UDPP for comparison.

The Purple dot is the eye with TFSI, the teal dot is for UDPP.  Eyeshadows used are MAC CHronic Yellow(Matte), UD Graffiti(frosty, applied densely), UD Peace(frosty, applied sparsely), MUFE 72(matte), MAC Freshwater(pearly), and a highlight.  I tried to show a variety of shadow textures and blendings. Lower lashline has no primer. As you can see the primer REALLY brings out the vibrancy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glytten
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 20:17:23

    This look remind me about a beautiful Ara. It’s nice!

    Reply

  2. dolcearia
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 15:59:35

    Thank you! The idea was a little overkill for full-face, but I think it worked well for comparing primers…. I do love the colors, though I don’t have the best eye shape for some of the contrasting shades/contours I used.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

