Review- Benefit Prrrowl lipgloss and mascara duo

This is one of the odder things I’ve gotten the urge to try…  There’s a dark blue-violet sparkly mascara, and a baby pink lipgloss, with blue sparkle.

I had mixed feelings—the gloss is LOVELY!  Fruity smelling, thick consistancy, though not sticky, VERY pretty on the lips, wore reasonably well(3 hours without touchups).  The mascara was a bit of a letdown though.  I like it on the lower lashes—mine, at least, are thick enough that  I can get a good amount of glitter to adhere, and the angle catches the light reasonably well.  However, on the upper lashes, they clump a LOT, and the glitter isn’t even visible.  I layered, and layered, and layered, and never once got a decent amount of sparkle to show up when I examined it in the mirror.

The packaging is cute—the cardboard covering has a pretty metallic navy-and-pink leopard print, that is echoed on the label for the duo.  It’s not square, or round… just a sort of angled Rhombus shape.  I kind of wish I could separate the pieces, only carry one at once, rather than both lids/wands being attached in the center.  But that’s just a standard pet peeve of mine with duo packaging,   It seems like a waste of purse space.  And the packaging feels overall sturdy enough  that I wouldn’t be nervous to carry it in my purse regularly.  The plastic has a little feeling of give to it, adn a faintly rubbery feeling surface, so it doesn’t require a lot of force to open.

The brush for the mascara is a very sparse, traditional mascara brush, with rows of bristles spaced fairly far apart. It’s NOT abrush you’d use for a lengthening mascara, but it works for this because te glitter collects around the center base rather than the bristles. i had best luck tapping it onto my lashes, so that the glitter in the center would get patted onto them, rather than running my lashes along the bristles of the brush.

The lipgloss comes with the standard doe-foot applicator. With the thickness of the formula, this IS something you’ll probably need to double dip to get a decent coat—for my  lips, I felt like I needed 2, sometimes 3, to get an even coat.  There’s a good amount of color to it, and it isn’t especially sheer.  The thickness makes it slightly more difficult to spread around, though.

Overall, its a cute set, and I’m hopeful that if  I keep trying, I’ll find some technique to make the glitter part work.  I wouldn’t label it an essential,but I can see a lot of uses for it.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 13:42:30

    The glitter mascara is so pretty. In the tube it just looks so sexy with the dark blurply color on the edges and the bright turquoise where the light hits.
    Did you have multiple layers of gloss on in the lip swatch? The product looks a lot more subtle as a gloss than I expected; it doesn’t have a weird ultra-wet PVC shine.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Nov 19, 2010 @ 17:22:56

      The glitter in the gloss looks more chunky, than wet, when applied. I had a reasonably thick coat on(Probably 3-4 dips of the wand, to cover my lips completely?). The blue shimmer gives the majority of the texture, but it looks like there’s also some larger shimmer mixed in.

      The mascara is GORGEOUS in the tube, and I LOVE it on my lower lashes. There’s no pictures of that in use, though, because glitter is ALWAYS hard to photograph, and this glitter seemed to be VERY subtle on the lashes. It didn’t show up at ALL on my upper lashes, even when layered till clumping. I did like it on my lower lashes though. I think I’d be in love with it if it had the opacity of a glitter liner. Or if it WAS a glitter liner! That would be gorgeous! It’s a delightful color for a glittery eye product!

      Reply

  2. gemma
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 21:12:34

    I believe its a mascara topcoat, not a mascara. I layered it on top of my regular mascara and it showed up amazingly 🙂

    Reply

  3. dolcearia
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 21:25:40

    What mascara did you use?

    I’ve tried it over Buxom, Exceptionnel De Chanel, Diorshow, Bad Gal, and I’ve had a very difficult time working it up to be visible to the naked eye, let alone photography. It clumped them together a lot, but it never caught the light.

    Maybe it’s just that my lashes are too thick for it to reflect properly. It showed up a bit more on my lower lashes. But I’m still a bit saddened by the effect on my upper lashes. I’m more than game to try again, though, if you have recommendations?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

