Happy Birthday, thepaintedmask!

We’re coming up on my anniversary. I don’t recall the exact date, but it was sometime in November that I started cataloging my makeup here.

I’m happy with the work I’ve put in, and have been brainstorming ideas on how to make thepaintedmask better.

Join me behind the cut for a preview of some new series’ I’m starting, and feel free to offer ideas on some of the other changes I’d like to implement.

We’ll start with some new features I’m looking forward to adding.

Back to basics-Reviews are one thing… but which products actually stay in my routine AFTER I’ve tested them?  This section will feature revisions of old reviews for products I LOVE, and swear by.  This will probably end up as a weekly, or bi-weekly section, depending on interest.  I’m looking forward to adding information to the old reviews-how long a container lasts, if it dries out quickly, if I’ve stopped using it for some reason, or found something better…  But all of the products and reviews featured in this way are my favorites, of all the makeup I try!

Best in Show— Along the lines of Back to Basics, but with more comparisons.  Each post will focus on a common link- A product type, brand, use, that sort of thing.  And I’ll raid my makeup stash, collection of reviews, knowledge of products I’ve tried but not written about, to highlight the differences between a number of products that may well be amazing in their own right!  Due to the level of detail I’d like to include, this probably will be posted monthly, starting either in December, or after the new year!

Tutorials for looks, and techniques will continue to be posted as I compile them, and of course,  Focus On will continue to update weekly, for ideas to use your colors as versatile-y as they can!

On to the minor “improvements”.

I know I’m a very “Stream of consciousness” style writer, and that can be confusing in a review.  I thought it might make it easier for readers to gauge what products their interested in if I included a “cliff notes” rating before the cut to the review.

So far, I’d like to include  spaces to rate details like color selection(for the line of shades available), ease of application, product quality, known duplicates for the shade, obvious flaws or defects, suitability for various skin colors/types, and a simple yes/no answer for the “Would I repurchase this” question that can be so telling.  I’m happy to discuss it if there’s anything else I’m forgetting, or if anyone would like to help refine the idea.

Once I’ve settled on the specific format for that, I’ll add it to my new reviews, and edit it to old reviews, as I have time.

Questions, feedback, can be addressed in the comments, or directed to dolce.aria.pdx at gmail dot com.

I’ve enjoyed having an outlet to share my makeup, and I’m proud of the year I’ve had.  Here’s looking forward to what I can accomplish in another!  Thanks for letting me share my obsession with you!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena (XOXO Parisky)
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 12:40:11

    Happy Blog birthday! 🙂
    The new topics seem really interesting 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Nov 25, 2010 @ 16:39:59

      Thanks! I tried to think of what would be most useful. I know lots of us don’t have time to read review after review from EVERY blogger they follow, and that doing comparison pieces, and revising and showcasing standout products would be an easier way to make things a bit more practical for everyone!

      I’m debating the usefulness of doing smaller comparison pieces between particularly similar products(EG MAC Electric Eel and MUFE #72 eyeshadow) since they may not be as distinctive as comparing foundation formula’s, but may still affect which a consumer would choose to buy. Not sure if that’s redundant, though.

      (I’m hoping that having this displayed will motivate me to get off my tail and start incorporating things. As of December 1st, when I’ve used all my prepared reviews, I’ll be trying to add the new Cliff Notes to all new reviews added. I’m still trying to figure out which information is the most broadly useful to include).

      Reply

      • Helena (xoxo Parisky)
        Nov 29, 2010 @ 22:10:00

        Short reviews sound really like a good idea. Short and easy to read through 🙂

      • dolcearia
        Nov 29, 2010 @ 22:25:41

        I thought that placing them before the cut would help people to weed out which products they KNOW they don’t want to waste brain space on from the start.

        I prefer longer reviews, and LOTS of details, comparisons, etc. But that’s not always the best unless you have extensive familiarity with all the topics brought up. I hope that the Cliff Notes on the main page will help provide that option for readers. They’re tentatively starting December 1st, and I’m hoping that I’ll get the hang of it fairly quickly. CC is welcome for the first week or so, if there is any further information you’d like included in it, or if it’s still confusing or scattered.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

