Review: Illamasqua lipstick in Underworld

So, in my recent Illamasqua splurge, I stumbled on this color.  I wanted to try a lipstick, and this looked like my sort of color!  Have you seen UD Fishnet eyeshadow?  MAC stars n rockets?  Underworld is EXACTLY like that, for the lips.  There’s a very cool fuchsia-purple base, with a pearly blue-violet sheen. I’m not sure how the pigmentation compares to the rest of their lipstick colors. This felt VERY sheer to me.  It applied reasonably easily, and the texture felt similar to MUFE’s Rouge Artist Intense creamy finish lipsticks.  However, this NEVER got completely opaque, and always looked a wee bit streaky.  I think it layers nicely over other lipsticks, but I’m still unimpressed seeing it on the lips on its own.

THis is DEFINITELY a cool toned color.  So, avoid this if you have any yellow in your skin. I’m pretty neutral toned, and don’t normally have issues,but this is RIGHT on the borderline of being too cool to look nice.

I got decent wear out of it-4 or 5 hours, easily.  It didn’t feather, or wear off unevenly.  I just wish it was less streaky looking, and more pigmented.  Especially since it has a price tag of about 20$.

This lipstick definitely is not an easy color to choose or work with.  That said, I have developed a new obsession for this color layered over another bright purple,like MUFE Rouge Artist Intense  #15.  Or over a darker purple lipstick, blotted into a stain(like MAC Cyber).  This is JUST my sort of color.  But then, Illamasqua is known for designing unusual colors for makeup art.  One of these days, I will get their true navy lipstick.  Unfortunately, some of their more fun colors can’t be marketed in the US, due to cosmetic legislation.  I’m still saddened by that.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecandiedmango
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 13:44:19

    I didn’t expect a color called “Underworld” to be so bright and perky. I love the way it looks swatched on your hand— it’s too bad that doesn’t translate well into regular wear.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Nov 19, 2010 @ 17:17:17

      It looks nice layered with a brighter base, either pink, or purple(Layering it with MUFE #15, for instance, makes it what I hoped it would be!). But it is WAY too sheer on its own for me to be pleased. Especially since the online description for it is supposed to be “violet, with iridescent sparkles”. Eventually I’ll try more Illamasqua lipsticks to see if they are that sheer too, but the color I REALLY want is only sold in Europe. Without that, i’m still a little leery. I WANT to like this color, but it just doesn’t work as vibrantly as I want!

      Reply

  2. dolcearia
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 14:08:08

    I really wonder if it’s worth bumping and editing this review. Barely three months after puchasing this, it has dried out SOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH that it literally flakes off my lips. Forget uneven application and even wear. It flakes off within ten minutes.

    I have one more illamasqua lipstick coming, so here’s hoping this is just a dud color. I plan to melt chunks of the lipstick into homemade chapstick for color. This does NOT work at all. Which is mind boggling for how expensive it is!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

