Experimental Monochrome

Inspired by that image.  I LOVE black and white textures, and it’s been a while since I did something really out-there.  I don’t care for this, but I think that has just as much to do with the difficulty of executing complex sketches on your own face, as it does with the limit to my natural artistic talent.

Eyes

Fill brows with MAC Carbon

MUFE Aqua cream in White

UD Zero-fill in crease.

Fyrinnae Robot Takeover-blend over zero to soften crease

MAC Gesso-highlight

UD Zero-inner corner

NARS Melusine-silvery lilac-lower lid

Hourglass Film Noir mascara

MUFE Aqua Eyes in black-lower waterline

Buxom lashliner in Leatherette-upper lashline, winging out at outer corner.  Parallel to that curve, sketch in another wing below lower lashline.  Smudge a small amount in inner corner of crease.

Sephora liquid liner in Crystal-fill in between wings.

Detailing-UD Zero, MUFE Black and White flash creams, sephora crystal liquid liner.

Lips

NARS Indian red

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pumpkincat210
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 01:49:25

    I like it alot!! Must have taken alot of patience!!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Nov 23, 2010 @ 16:39:42

      Thanks! It deviated from my original concept—I wanted the pattern done on both cheeks, with the black graduating to gray in the center of my face, the way it does. I gave up partway through, though. I’ve been having hand problems this month.

      I may not even get to put on makeup today, after shoveling nearly 150 lbs of salt-melt at work. I seriously am having difficulty opening and closing my hands. Curse you, tendinitis, and managers-assigning-me-the-work-of-at-least-two-people!

      Reply

  2. Helena (XOXO Parisky)
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 12:42:10

    What limit of your artistic skills? I see skills!
    Love this one! It’s really interesting!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Nov 25, 2010 @ 16:45:55

      I’m still so-so on it, just because it turned out far worse than my original plans. I’m really getting to the point where I need to recruit models for these designs, because applying the painted details on myself is SO hard on my hands, and seems to be very sloppy!

      I wanted it to look less like a tattoo design, and more like my face emerging through degrees of shadows, in the floral patterns. I guess there’s nothign wrong with being too ambitious?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

