Review: Tarina Tarantino eyeshadow Smudge Stick

These are clearanced at Sephora now, for 8$. I got a few for a future giveaway, and one for myself.

The shade I kept is Silk.  It’s a peachy-nude shade that works well as an all-over shadow color.  All of the shades I’ve seen have a frosty, sparkly texture similar to some of Tarina Tarantino’s permanent line, and Urban Decay’s eyeshadows.

This is one of those products that I don’t have a WHOLE lot  of use for….. I usually do very complex make up, and would find this too imprecise to do anything but a highlight.  But it’s a really neat system, and I can see it being useful for a lot of people looking for a five-minute look.  You don’t need brushes, you don’t need a lot of precision…. Just smudge it, and keep smudging to help blend it.

There’s a few shades for basic variants of smoky eyes-deep purple, deep green, deep brown, black…  So really everything you need.   For a beginning makeup user, or an experienced one just looking for quick makeup for work, this is well worth the  money.

This is a loose eyeshadow, funneled through a spongey smudger tip, like what you would use to smudge eyeliner.  It’s very soft, and can  be useful.

The dispenser doesn’t seem to dispense a LOT of product, and you need to screw the cap back on to get it to dispense more, not just push the pen part back.  That’s a bit odd, but not an issue.

The deeper colors would be gorgeous used over liner, to smudge and smoke it out in one easy step.

I believe these are being discontinued, hence the price. So if you want to try them, I’d recommend ordering them online from sephora, or dropping by your local store to have a  look.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aneela
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 17:29:07

    lovely shade

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 27, 2010 @ 13:37:44

      I keep it in my work bag, in case the man wants to go grocery shopping after work. I throw just a touch on my lid, and inner lower waterline. It makes me look a bit more put together, and less tired, with no other makeup.

      It’s not the product I reach for the most often, but it’s definitely one ofthe more utilitarian make up products I own!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

