Review: Kat Von D lipstick in Cathedral

I’ve eyeballed the Kat Von D lipsticks rather frequently—though the shade range is limited to stronger reds, there’s some very luscious ones!  Cathedral is a warmer red with a peach note.   It reminds me of a very warm clay color, rather than a true red.

There isn’t a real taste or smell to cathedral, and it applies fairly easily. I’d say I gave it about two coats to get opaque coverage.  There’s a slight satin finish, but I wouldn’t describe it as shimmer, or glossy, by any means.

The formula dried my lips out a little, but was far gentler than many formulas.  I still think I prefer MAC lipsticks, and MUFE Rouge Artist Intense, for colors and wearability.  But Cathedral was quite pretty, and the drying effect wasn’t so prominent as to discourage me from wearing it.

The dryness definitely helped it cling.  I noticed it fading around 3-4 hours in.  It didn’t wear off as evenly as I’d like–you DEFINITELY need to touch it up, rather than assume that it’s an even stain that at least looks intentional.  It didn’t feather or smudge noticeably, though.

If you have a warmer skin tone, and like vibrant lip colors, this is a lovely shade!  Even if you normally prefer nude or caramel lips and just want something a little brighter, this should work nicely.  And since Kat Von D is one of the makeup lines available even in JCPennies sephora counters, this shouldn’t be too difficult to find.

Here’s lip swatches, and a few photos!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brandy Von Doeren
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 07:25:19

    this is actually super helpful on a ebay bid I’m going to do, thanks

    Reply

  2. Kim
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 02:45:52

    do you have a mac dupe for it?

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Oct 10, 2011 @ 03:56:58

      Not off hand. I can look next time I’m in store, though. Comparing it to the MAC Shades I have…. It’s a bit darker than Cherish, not as shimmery as Viva Glam V, less saturated than Crosswires… Most of the MAC Lipsticks I’ve bought are bright shades. I’ll be sure to check it out, though!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

