Glamourous brown smoky eye

Not my usual style, and I’m still not sure that it suits my actual skin tone that well, but this pops the blue and green eyes out gorgeously, and looks great with my hair.  The actual contour of it reminds me of something that Kim Kardashian would wear(if you get into celebrities makeup.  I really don’t.)

Eyes

UDPP

Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy

Fyrinnae Dokkalfur-outer corner, outer lower lashline

UD Lounge-outer half of lid around Dokkalfur

MAC All that glitters-inner half of lid, and above crease to soften

MAC Nylon-highlight

UD 24/7 liner in Stash-lower waterline

MUFE smoky lash mascara

Cheeks

NARS Laguna

Benefit High beams-highlighter

Lips

MAC Cherish

NARS Stolen Kisses

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 19:21:55

    Gasp! This is beautiful!! I’m looking into the Fyrinnae products now…where do you get them? Thank you for this look!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 05, 2010 @ 19:31:50

      Fyrinnae is available online. It’s an Indie company based out of Seattle. I have a link on the sidebar here, or you can do an internet search. They are AWESOME! Cheap samples that last forever, the Pixie Epoxy is excellent, some BEAUTIFUL complex finishes….. I’ve even gotten to enjoy the wait time anticipating the order. Everything’s made to order, so it will take a few weeks to actually get it 😉

      (a week or so ago, I did a tutorial on it, that’s worth checking out until you get used to it. It’s a sticky base that makes all eyeshadows look as intense as if they were applied wet. Especially with a shade like Dokkalfur, it’s nice. You can’t see it, but the outer corner is shot through with bright green, yellow, bronze sparkles that also sort of emphasize the eye color, and Lounge )

      In the meantime, you can use almost any deep greenish tone for this look. MAC Greensmoke, Moonlight Night pigment(if you snapped it up. I did.) or even UD has a few shades that might work. I’m not sure if Protest is a permanent shade or not, but that’s probably a good bet. And, of course, MAC Club would also work well.

      Reply

  2. thecandiedmango
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 13:21:32

    I love the idea of brown smokey eyes but I’ve never been able to make them work for me. I’ll have to try doing it this way in the future.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 06, 2010 @ 15:17:18

      I don’t care for them on myself as a general rule. Especially with my paleness, and inability to wear bronzer or strong blush contours, they usually just end up looking dark, and out of place. I’m sure you know what I mean.

      I think color looks much better on me. I do like choosing browns that aren’t straight-up brown, though. Lounge has such a strong reddish note that it can look more distinctive than your usual bronze or taupe color. And the reddish browns look flattering with auburn hair, so it looks cohesive. Do you have Fyrinnae STFU? That’s another good reddish-copper color for doing brown smoky eyes.

      Reply

      • thecandiedmango
        Dec 06, 2010 @ 15:47:34

        I agree that warmer browns tend to look better around the eyes; neutral browns usually come in matte form and look like poo (literally) when I try to smear it in the general area of my eyes.
        Unfortunately I don’t own STFU… yet. I think I know what’s going on my pre-Christmas makeup binge list!

      • dolcearia
        Dec 06, 2010 @ 16:24:09

        wooooo pre-xmas makeup binge! Hope you enjoy it!

        I don’t mind warmer browns around the eyes, but they do need other colors to tone them down a bit. It’s hard finding a good neutral brown with some pink or red in it. My usual favorite neutral shades, MAC Cork, Kid, etc. still lean warmer, and never quite look “right” unless I’m using a pink or peach elsewhere on the lid. It does seem like there’s a dearth of good nude or brown shades or cool skin tones.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

