Marylin Monroe inspired vintage glamour

Eh, it has been SO long since I really fussed with a high maintenance vintage look.  In case anyones interested, the dress is a wannabe-vintage Romy A-line dress, with button detailing under the bust.  Hair was curled with large rollers and then fluffed and combed out.  Of course, a half hour later, it’s already gone. My hair is TERRIBLE for curling.

There’s a close up of the lips again.  Follow is a bit lighter, and more cherry red than Brave Red, and the result of layering them was this intense, smooth neon red.  Absolutely flawless!

Eyes

UDPP

MAC Later pigment-outer  half of lid

MAC All that glitters-inner half of lid

MAC Naked lunch-highlight/above crease to soften

MAC Vanilla-outer corner of browbone for highlight

UD 24/7 liner in Zero-lower waterline

Layer Fresh Firebird and Supernova mascaras

Buxom lashliner in Leatherette-line upper lashline, winging out at outer corner. I angled it slightly lower than the curve of my lower lashline to leave space by the shadow in the outer corner, and then flicked upwards slightly towards the edge.

Cheeks

MAC Prism-blush and contour

Benefit High Beams-highlight

Lips

MAC Brave red

Illamasqua lipgloss in Follow

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 21:59:50

    Gorgeous! Pinup style really suits you! I love the lips, the eyes, the hair … Everything!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 06, 2010 @ 22:24:59

      Thanks. I don’t get around to doing the full pinup hair and makeup very often, since I’m distracted by bright eyeshadows, and my hair HATES curls. I love the curls, but they don’t even stay in an hour, and it takes me AT LEAST 2-3 hours to curl my full head. It’s really excruciating. Especially because one side falls out faster than the other, so half my head is halfway pretty, and the other half just looks ratty-mostly-straight.

      I really loved the lips on this though. Brave red is gorgeous on its own, but the cherry, soft-looking gloss….. Sooooo luscious!

      Reply

  2. keeralynn
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 04:16:04

    love, love, LOVE this look on you!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 07, 2010 @ 16:59:43

      Thanks! Vintage styles can be a lot of fun to wear, even if they don’t give me the instant-confidence of a neon smoky eye with rhinestone details…..

      Reply

  3. thecandiedmango
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 03:32:29

    !!! Follow is beautiful! It looks very.. juicy? I’m not sure of what word I’m looking for, but it’s a gorgeous gloss, especially with that lipstick. The whole look is adorable, especially with the wavy hair.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 10, 2010 @ 17:01:07

      It has a thick texture to it, so it actually gives the impression of depth on the lips. Not to sound weird or anything, but watching my lips move with it on, I am reminded of ergonomic gel shoe inserts. You know, clear, squishy, but somehow looking very tangible. I don’t know if that makes sense. It has been a LONG day. I’m slightly less than thrilled with it on its own–it’s bright, but not so opaque that it applies evenly. But layered over a lipstick like this, juicy really IS the best word for it!

      Reply

  4. shaimaa
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 06:51:45

    Wow!
    You look so gorgeous here
    The most thing i like is red lipstick and that shade look amazzing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

