Review: MAC Lipstick in Dubonnet

Dubonnet was my first red.  It’s still my favorite.  It’s neutral, but has a deeper brown note that is flattering on both warm and cool skin tones. It’s not eyepopping cherry red, but it is VERY pigmented.  It doesn’t show up pink, or wine, or orange/coral, or brick.  It’s just rich, glamorous red.

I recommend it HIGHLY, especially for those just trying out reds.  It’s an easy shade to wear.

I don’t have any real issues with application or wear, aside from the standard precautions for bright lipstick-apply with a brush for detail, moisturize lips before applying, and be aware that it MAY get on your teeth.  I don’t notice any feathering, or accenting dry spots, or wearing off unevenly, etc.

It’s Well worth the money, in my opinion.  It’s the most universally flattering red I’ve encountered, and easy to work with besides!

Dubonnet has a creamy finish-it’s not really glossy, but it’s not completely matte.  There’s no visible shimmer or frost to it.  Especially if you apply it, blot it, and apply it again over top, it will stay put for 4-6 hours with minimal touch-ups

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shaimaa
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 06:55:16

    I like it , I have Hot Tahiti from MAC and its really not good for me
    matte not creamy and drying my lip

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 21, 2010 @ 16:33:02

      I have a difficult time with Matte lipstick formulas too. Have you tried Tarte lip stains? They’re a bit pricey, but they’re nicely moisturizing and plumping, and DON’T dry the lips out at all. I reviewed Lively(fuchsia!!!) elsewhere on here, adn it is the best true-matte formula I’ve found for lips that have a tendency to dry out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

