Botanical

Not my best work ever.  I asked the boyfriend to name a random color combination, and he said “green and purple”.  Of course, that sent my mind to OCC Botanical lip tar, sitting on my vanity, waiting to be swatched and toyed with.

This photographed HORRIBLY.  There was only one that looked even remotely OK, and even in that one, the purple in the crease turned blue.  So you have my apologies for the lack of proper pictures.

Eyes

UDPP

Fyrinnae PIxie Epoxy

Fyrinnae Android angel-crease

Laura mercier african violet-above crease to soften

MAC Sweetlust-highlight

Illamasqua Conquer pigment-middle of lid

NARS Rated R chartreuse-inner corner

Green glitter liner-outer lower lashline, and upper lashline

MUFE Aqua Eyes in Black-lower waterline

Cheeks

MAC Gentle

Lips

OCC Botanical lip tar

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phyrra
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 23:33:26

    I LOVE the green lipstick with the look.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 11, 2010 @ 23:49:32

      Thanks. I think botanical might be most useful as a mixing color for toning down red lipsticks and such. it’s a really unique color that is VERY distinctive on the lips. I love it, but it’s hard to imagine wearing it as often as I probably will. I wish the look had photographed more cleanly—I don’t want to use more neon greens that might clash with the lipstick, but Conquer looks MUCH prettier in person than it does on camera.

      Reply

  2. Helena
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 04:06:18

    Wow! I actually did one makeup look like that but I used blue and yellow and not green and purple :)) Purple ALWAYS photographs terribly, but I really like the combo with the lips.

    Reply

  3. Helena
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 04:06:49

    Wow! I actually did one makeup looked like this, but I used blue and yellow and not green and purple :)) Purple ALWAYS photographs terribly, but I really like the combo with the lips.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 12, 2010 @ 19:52:21

      They’re odd colors to pair together. I probably should practice it more, because every combination I’ve tried I haven’t liked at ALL. I’d love to see yours, though! Any tips?

      Reply

      • Helena (xoxo Parisky)
        Dec 13, 2010 @ 13:21:29

        Sometimes odd combinations work great together! 😀
        Tips for photographing purple? Uh, not really. Just try different angles and lights and if everything fails, Photoshop is the answer 😛

      • dolcearia
        Dec 13, 2010 @ 14:16:19

        I’ve seen purple and green looks I really like. For some reason, I’m never happy with mine, though. I’m not sure why. I guess there’s just so many other colors I like more, that it’s hard to want to work this combination.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

