Hourglass Smoky(eyes only)

It’s a little bland, but I am still in love with the texture of Hourglass eyeshadows.  Plus, the photos came out well, so I’ve been having fun toying with the editing.  This may well be the most even, perfect natural smoky eye I’ve done yet.  I just wish I’d remembered to clean up the tail of my eyebrows-I didn’t realize I’d smudged it removing an earlier look.

 

UDPP

Hourglass Exhibition-dark eggplant-outer corner into crease

Hourglass Exhibition-mauve-outer half of lid

Hourglass Suede-pale brown-above crease to soften

Hourglass Suede-cream-inner corner, and brow bone

Hourglass Film Noir mascara

UD 24/7 liner in Rockstar-lower waterline

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 21:47:30

    Love the black touch! It really makes your eyes pop.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 14, 2010 @ 21:53:15

      Thanks. Exhibition isn’t totally black, but the deep burgundy sparkle didn’t photograph very much in pictures. It’s GORGEOUS, though. And I prefer these sorts of mauve tones so much more than the traditional nudes and bronzes of the quintessential neutral eye. I think they pop my eyes and skin out much more. This may be my go-to look for events with the boyfriends family. It’s dramatic, smoky, suits me, but it’s a bit conservative.

      Reply

  2. Phyrra
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 04:54:40

    It really looks lovely.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 15, 2010 @ 16:52:18

      Thanks. Suede and Exhibition are my favorite smoky-eye shades for pink, pale skin. It makes me wish I wore quiet makeup more often, just to get more use out of them.

      Reply

  3. spidergirl
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 19:07:51

    I’m so glad that I discovered you! Love how you play with bright colors and still create wearable looks! Love this one too 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 26, 2010 @ 08:34:08

      I like this one too, as an all-purpose sort of pretty look. It’s not the sort of instant confidence that I get from wearing something very bright out, but the shadows have such a pretty depth to them, that it is surprisingly fun to play with the subtleties, when creating it.

      It’s all individual preference though. Makeup just brings out different sides of the personality that is already there.

      Thanks for finding me! There’s plenty of makeup-crazy to go around, and I’m happy to share it!

      Reply

      • spidergirl
        Dec 26, 2010 @ 13:12:21

        It’s my pleasure how you welcomed me, I’m looking forward to much more creativity by you!

      • dolcearia
        Dec 26, 2010 @ 13:29:23

        Oh, I’m sure there will be plenty. I’m just starting to hit my stride after the holiday, fleshing out new features, playing with new products, trying to get a bunch more reviews assembled….. Life is good! Plus, with my vacation pay coming up, and holiday money, I’m eager to see what I’ll decide to spend it on. Spring releases are usually a LOT of fun, and I still kind of want to check out MAC’s new Stylishly Yours collection, with the BRIGHT pigments? Maybe I ought to put together some sort of wish list. isn’t that the type of thing that works better BEFORE all the gift giving? hehehe.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

