Review: OCC Lip Tar in Complex

Having already discussed my overall feelings on the brand, and OCC LIp Tars in general, we’ll start looking at the individual colors I own.

Complex is described as a “pale, grayed, violet”.  Honestly, I’d describe it more as “very pale nude lips”.  Look at how pale it is, even compared to other pale nude lipsticks.  It is completely opaque, leaves a minty white tint behind, and may dry out your lips a bit.  But it will stay for hours, and blends well with other colors.  The tube is $12.50, and will last forever, since it is opaque with only a teeny amount of product.

I would not wear Complex on its own, but I like using it s a highlight shade, with other colors.  Also, it’s nice for costume makeup, or less conventional effects.  If you want a nude shade that’s deeper than your skin tone, Lip Tars have MANY other color options that will be a better fit than Complex.   It’s pale enough that I wouldn’t use it on its own, on my fairer-than-MAC-NC15 skin.

It has a minty smell that is noticeable, but not too strong.  The initial gloss fades within 2 hours, but the color itself lingers for easily 6. During the first 4 hours or so, the gloss appears to have a thicker texture that fills in uneven textures on the lips.  After that, the lips begin to feel dry, and it may sink into cracks, and stain.

You can apply it directly from the tube, but I recommend using a lip brush to shape it, and then running your finger along the edge to soften it. My lips are pigmented enough that even with teh actual lip “shape” colored in, you can see faint pigmented shadows outside the lip line.  For a pale color like this that cancels out my natural pink lips, I don’t want a reverse lipliner shadow. That just looks silly.

Here’s swatches of it, and MAC Myth on the lips.  MAC Myth is one of the paler nude shades on the market, and frequently, I see makeup users put off by it, wondering if their lips will be TOO pale,, like they were covered in concealer.  Obviously, if MYTH looks dark against it, you have a sense for how pale it is.

The texture is quite smooth and slippery to apply, and CAN be blended with similarly non-sticky lipgloss formulas.  I found it to work well with NARS lipglosses, and Fyrinnae Lip Lustres.

I did this using NARS lip gloss to add contour to soften Complex.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena (XOXO Parisky)
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 13:03:56

    Love the first picture 🙂 It looks like an interesting stage makeup, even though it’s just a comparison 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 26, 2010 @ 13:25:14

      I know, I sort of want to work with that type of split/dual theme, sometime. Maybe make the Myth half of my face up porcelain doll style, dainty, feminine, rosy, and the Complex side cover my brows, use a white or ivory foundation, and try to focus on buildling that half of the face to have the structure and shading of carved stone….. I don’t know. I liked the pictures, and wanted to be sure that I was not going to accidentally sell it as the type of nude shade most people think of when you SAY nude lips….

      Reply

  2. newhouse
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 16:10:49

    Hi What NARS lip gloss did u use to soften OCC complex. I have complex and have been looking for ways to wear it. Love the last picture, gorgeous!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Sep 13, 2012 @ 07:24:41

      Sayonara lip stain, I think? It’s in a duo with an actual gloss, I’m not sure if it’s still being marketed.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

