some late night artistic diversion!

Because it’s too dark to fuss with my makeup, yet.  I was wrapping gifts for a belated celebration with the boyfriends moms family, and decided to photograph part of it before I give it away.

I don’t know if it has been mentioned here often, but I tend to view most of my artistic endeavors as throwaway.  I like MAKING things.  I don’t like keeping things I’ve made.  So I think most of my friends have PILES of random stuff I’ve done.  I just don’t like having it around.

The only things I’ve made explicitly for myself are my dishes.  Each is an abstract pattern, hand painted in dots, and none of them look alike.

Either way, last year, I painted a vase for the boyfriends mom, and this year I decided to give her a trivet that matches it, since she displays it prominently in her kitchen.  You may have to enlarge the picture to see the tiny dots that are my specialty.  I love working in dots and abstractions.

Usually, I paint tiny trivets and coasters as a way of testing ideas for larger pieces, hammering out concepts in the design and laout, as well as the textures and techniques I want to use.  Often, there’ll be a theme through them, simply because I want to try it again, incorporating new ideas, or refining the ones that were there.

The man picked out this one for his aunt.  It was inspired by a vintage wallpaper I saw, but since it’s the first in that particular series, it is a good bit less refined than the later ones.  See?

The layout and outlines are so much cleaner, and I love the area’s on the petals where I scraped layers of paint away before firing, for sharper contrasts.  Plus, I love the muted colors in the leaves where I used my paints like watercolors.

I’m ALL about contrasts.

These are my dishes.  Each one takes SEVERAL hours to paint, usually spread out over 3 days or so.

Outside rim and bottom are painted solid black, with a window on the bottom featuring more of the abstract detailing.

And here’s a close-up of my headache inducing pattern!  There’s five shades of black, gray, teal, forest green, and beige, over a cream colored base coat.

I’m in the middle of a teapot matching the dishes. Eventually, I’d like ot do a basic platter or two, though I want to adapt the pattern differently for that large of an area.

Either way, it’s a diversion.  I tend to visualize my makeup a lot more thoroughly before attempting it, but I rarely know what I’m doing, when I start painting something.  Sometimes I do a pencil sketch, other times I pick a color I like and start building textures with it, and embellishing from there.  I really don’t keep very much of what I make, so it’s a totally different creative process than makeup, where I have a LOT of pictures and visual feedback to inspire me.

We all have our random hobbies, right?

Anyways, hope everyone had happy holidays.  And I hope you’re looking forward to the new year!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alvira
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 13:05:20

    Wow they are so pretty you are so talented

    Reply

  2. Helena (XOXO Parisky)
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 15:02:50

    Wow!
    Gorgeous! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Helena (XOXO Parisky)
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 15:11:12

    I especially love your dishes! I love dots and abstract patterns 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 27, 2010 @ 15:29:59

      The dishes are….. my artistic style. I think some turned out better than others, but it really is more like meditation than painting. I have to take my glasses off, unfocus my eyes, and just direct lines and sizes of dots where they will go. It’s REALLY imprecise and headache inducing. Keeps me busy, though. I think I need to do one more plate and two more bowls before I’ll have the full set done. It’ll be the first one of these projects that has made it to completion for forever. Usually I just work with ideas until I like what I’m doing, and then pick something else.

      I’m not a particularly strong painter, but after refining things a bit, I can do fairly creditable pieces. It really is busywork though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

