Bird of paradise

Eh, I sort of felt like something warm and sunny. It’s a bit sloppy though, since I’m having a fairly bad pain week, and i had a hard time motivating myself into standing long enough to apply makeup.   Ah well. I’ll do better next week.

Eyes

UDPP

Sugarpill Birthday Girl-outer corner

SHiro Shaymin-middle of lid

Bella Pierre Twilight(or any pale yellow mica)-inner corner

Shiro Epona-above crease

MAC Vanilla-highlight

MAC Nylon-brush a small mount onto outer browbone with a fluffy brush

Layer Cargo Lash Activator and Exceptionnel De Chanel mascara

UD 24/7 liner in Rockstar-lower waterline

Fyrinnae Fyre and ice-apply wet to upper lashline, winging out at outer corner.

Cheeks

Sugarpill Birthday Girl eyeshadow

Lips

MUFE #33

Illamasqua Intense lipgloss in Mistress

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spidergirl
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 11:53:56

    That’s another lovely look actually, I would love to try this color combination on my eyes too! You blended perfectly as always.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 31, 2010 @ 12:03:10

      Thanks. I like the colors, and with most of these eyeshadows, the texture is QUITE smooth, and easy to blend properly. For the rest, I just cleaned my brush on paper towel in between colors, and spend a lot of time brushing little circles to soften. You’d be surprised how often I use that particular technique! Especially with bright colors, when a harsh falloff can totally break a look.

      I guess most of my quibbles are with the liner. I like the sort of chunky wing, but I think it’s overall a little sloppier than I like… That’s me though, I always look for room to improve. It’s not bad considering I can hardly hold a brush right now with the wrist problems 😦

      Reply

      • spidergirl
        Dec 31, 2010 @ 12:42:04

        I’m feeling sorry for your wrist problem, and wish that everything gets better for you. You’ve done a perfect eye lining job considering myself who’s can’t even figure out where to start with liquid eyeliner 😦

      • dolcearia
        Dec 31, 2010 @ 12:58:58

        It’s all about knowing when to cheat and use the side of the brush, rather than the tip *wink*. Turning the brush to it’s side allows you a visual to see the angle of the line, and just a quick tap puts a guide in place.. Then, you can use the tip to fill in details.

  2. Susan
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 12:12:27

    Oh! I love this look too; so soft and beautiful.

    I hear you mention pain a lot; are you okay? Now I’m worried about you. Please be healthy. We all care about you!!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 31, 2010 @ 12:23:51

      Eh, nothing serious. I have a few joint issues that don’t really cause any actual harm….. they just give me periods of tendinitis and some weird soreness. So articulate motions like handling brushes, or handwriting, can be…. difficult. And especially in the usual gray weather here, when it fluctuates, or is especially wet, or especially cold, it makes the underlying sensitivity worse. I’m REALLY not suited for working outside in the winter, in my area. But so long as I don’t get too many curve balls at work(like I’ve had this week hauling “Icy Conditions” signs around so people know to watch their step) I am OK. I just can’t handle too much being added on to the usual routine without feeling like I’m coming apart at the seams. Nothing to worry about at all. I just get whiny when I feel like the things I WANT to do are suffering because of it. The boyfriend usually bears the brunt of it, but it’s hard to not comment on it, when I see sloppy edges in a look, or the liner isn’t precise…. I KNOW I can do better. It really irritates me.

      The pink just makes this look, to me. Shaymin is the perfect wearable coral, but the glitter and pure bubblegum color of Birthday girl is just impeccable. Plus, you can use it as blush. I LOVE that! Everything you save money on later, right?

      Reply

  3. Susan
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 12:43:33

    Yes, it’s the pink that “makes it”.

    Sorry for your pain, but glad it’s not something worse (some bad diseases out there). Guess we all got something. I got a bad back and feet (I’d make a terrible horse!). Had a bunch of various kinds of surgeries, so at least my recovery time from hurting is quicker.

    Yup, save money so I can buy more cosmetics! Now you’ve opened the door to new manufacturers…and I was just graduating from MAC to MUFE! I want it ALL! ; )

    Now, if I could only learn how to do my hair and wear nicer clothes (would rather play and spend $ for makeup and no patience with hair) I’d look pulled together.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 31, 2010 @ 12:56:54

      I’ve more or less given up on my hair. Good luck with yours! MUFE makes BEAUTIFUL stuff, there’s many of their products I like better than MAC, though there IS much more saving involved to collecting MUFE. It’s more expensive than I’d like, so I have been trying to wean myself away from it now that I have entirely too many of their Aqua creams(some of the BEST colored eyeshadow bases you’ll find!) Makeups always more fun to spend money on, because you DO things with it. Although there’s a lot of aesthetic fun to be had choosing clothing, and designing your ensemble, it’s not as hands on as makeup, and I don’t think the changes you make are as obvious as, say, trying a new crease placement or primer or shadow texture. I buy thriftstore vintage clothing, clearance clothing, or make my own whenever possible, but I’ve cut my budget down to about a quarter of what it was before I allotted that money for makeup. It’s all about your priorities.

      The back stuff is brutal. The boyfriend has issues with his stemming from an old knee injury, and there’s days when he’s even more limited by it then I am when my pain is bad! (That may also be because when his back is painful, he loses ALL ability to focus, talk coherently, think things through, so it can be a bit like talking to a ten year old, until I make him spend time on the heating pad and stretch it back into a semblance of order. It would be a bit cute, if it weren’t utterly aggravating trying to coax him into fixing it. He never realizes that it was that bad until AFTER the fact. Men.)

      Reply

  4. Heather / Eyeconic
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 20:34:04

    I think this is great and you look beautiful 🙂 It’s nice to see a look like this to contrast the nasty weather.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 02, 2011 @ 01:27:59

      Thanks. Contrasting the weather is AlWAYS fun. I think that’ a good part of why I wear so many bright colors! You can see only so much gray and rain before you want everything to be happy and sunny.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

