Focus On: Urban Decay Mary Jane

Focus On is a work in progress. Have you ever talked yourself out of buying a product because the color was too odd, and you wondered how often you would really be able to use it? Or, you know those colors you LOVE because of some hidden versatility that you never imagined when you bought it? I do that ALL of the time. In the interests of loving what I HAVE, and learning its limitations, rather than relying on the influx of new colors, I will be doing this post every Saturday, focusing on a new color from my collection, with examples of past work, ideas for other uses. Please feel free to suggest colors you wish to see, or uses for the ones listed, or let me know what your favorites are for future posts.

Mary Jane is a pretty, frosty pale blue. There’s NO aqua or turquoise notes in this color, and this color is best on the coolest-of-the-cool pink skin tones.  If you pair it with warmer teals and such, warmer tones can wear it, but keep your undertones in mind when choosing pairings.  This post particularly is a trip down memory lane, since so many of the looks here are older, before I’d manage to coax my eyebrows into a normal shape(They’re sparse and shapeless, so for YEARS I handled it by overplucking them, and sketching it in where I could. Embarrassing, really.)

It makes a nice lid color to subtly draw out eyes, with silver or white accents, and a brighter crease

Paired with more steely gray-blues, the frost and silver tones are stronger.

Pat, rather than swipe Mary Jane on to minimize the frost.(shown above the crease)

Pair with warmer aqua’s, turquoises, and teals, to use the color on warmer skin tones.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 03:37:11

    Perfection! I have plenty of such colors that I actually never wear 😛 My excuse is that I’m waiting for warmer days because most of them are blue or green 😛 But occasionally I do use them for a pretty makeup play (for blog).

    Wait your eyes are green? I always thought they’re blue 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 01, 2011 @ 09:27:05

      My drivers license says blue, but they honestly change based on lighting, clothing/makeup pairing, etc. It’s somewhere between green and blue, with hazel flecks.

      I don’t use Mary Jane as much as I could, but it IS surprisingly useful! Nothing like a few pretty utilitarian colors that show others off nicely…

      Reply

  2. Helena
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 09:46:09

    So you’ve got the same eyes as I do XD
    Can’t wait for more focus on posts 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

