Filthy

Eh, it’s boring, but I’ve been wanting to photograph a tutorial for an all-purpose neutral look.  This sort of fits, though the eyeliner is heavier than you may prefer.  Plus, it’s easy to tweak it for your skin type and face shape.  Use a matte primer for mature skin, skin the upper lashline liner if you have hooded lids, etc.  The second part of this will see us darken it to something more evening appropriate,and add brighter lips.  Hooray for versatility!

Eyes

MUFE Aqua cream Warm Beige-lower lid

MAC Kid-crease

MAC Cork-outer corner, outer lower lashline

MAC Naked lunch-highlight

MAC Vex-inner corner

Smashbox Jet Set liner in starstruck-upper lashline and lower waterline

Fresh Supernova mascara

Cheeks

Tarte Hotel heiress bronzer-blush and contour

LORAC Perfectly lit-highlight

Lips

NARS Stolen Kisses

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 12:55:15

    Very pretty and neutral. I’ll have to try going lighter browns; this is nice. Gosh, I love your long lashes!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 02, 2011 @ 13:12:24

      Thanks. I know the eyeliner is still fairly dark, mostly due to personal preference. I used a fairly sheer bronze liner to soften it slightly, and I’d call it “work safe”. It’s definitely still got some oomph to it, though. I got the night time look posted now, adn when I come back from walking the cat, I’ll start on the tutorials for both.

      Reply

  2. Susan
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 13:15:25

    I like the thick liner (mostly cuz my old eyes need the oomph). Now to go look at the “Gorgeous” post…

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 02, 2011 @ 14:27:30

      I prefer it too, since my cheeks are so prominent and round. Nude looks and very minimal liner tend to make my face look very fleshy. But shaping the eyes and lips provides much more balance, and more focal interest to draw away from the very round face.

      I always feel like I should put a disclaimer in about the liner, since I think a lot of makeup users would not consider this a daytime look, with the drama of the eye liner and contours. I love using the softer browns to sketch in contours, and soften the liner. It’s not as harsh as a full-blown smoky eye.

      Reply

  3. spidergirl
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 00:30:06

    It’s quite a natural look I can wear on a daily basis, you again did a nice job with it 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 03, 2011 @ 02:26:02

      Thanks. I thought it was pretty, though I don’t really wear this sort of thing out unless I’m visiting with the boyfriends family. Sometimes quieter is better, though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

