Gorgeous

Start with this look, apply a layer of powder below the eyes to catch fallout, to transition from day to a night appropriate look.

Eyes

MAC Sketch-crease

Laura Mercier African Violet-above crease to soften

UD Sellout-highlight

UD Lounge-outer corner

UD Half Baked-inner corner

UD 24/7 liner in Rockstar-lower waterline and outer upper lashline, smudging

Cargo Lash Activator mascara

Cheeks

MAC Gleeful

Lips

MAC Dubonnet

Illamasqua Follow intense lipgloss

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 13:20:46

    Holy cow! GORGEOUS is right!!
    That does it; I’m moving my Want of Dubonnet waaaay up the list! What punch for this beautiful eye.
    I gotta say, I tried the blue/purple/green eye this morning and I just went “meh” to my look. Then I piled on the brown-y neutrals (MAC Antiqued & Mystery) on top of what was fading fast and voila, I like that better on me. I made it dark though, so that makes me feel “fancy”.
    You are so fun to post lots of looks and answer back so quickly. Thank you!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 02, 2011 @ 14:38:39

      It takes a LOT of work to wear brights, plus confidence. It’ll take a while to figure out what makes them show up best on your face, and which ones don’t make you feel self-conscious. Using muted colors, or adding in neutral shades can make it much easier to ease into it. You know, a bright bright color on the lid, and a rich bronze or taupe crease?

      I sort of felt like this one was a little bland, but it worked well for my intentions. The intention behind this was to do day/night looks with shades that COULD be used from the Urban Decay Naked Palette, or be used from various other available colors.

      Really, I just wanted to use a few stylistic options outside my normal neon-bright tastes.

      Reply

  2. alvira
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 19:46:27

    It is truly gorgeous.I love neutral colors I think they suit me more as compared to bold colors and this one is soo beautiful I want the naked palette all the colors in this palette are so pretty but sephora do not ship to my country 😦

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 03, 2011 @ 02:21:37

      Alvira–even here, the Naked palette isn’t widely available. Someone gets a shipment, and it sells out within HOURS. They really haven’t made enough of them for the demand… .and it’s been out for MONTHS. It’s really popular, and I don’t mind including duplicates, when possible. I know a lot of people HAVE managed to purchase it, and a lot are planning to when it becomes available. Really, there’s nothing terribly different in it. You can easily use the colors I did, that are more widely available(Though the other urban decay shades still probably aren’t available in your area, I”m sure you can find a frosty gold, frosty pink, and frosty taupe eyeshadow).

      Neutral colors aren’t my favorite to work with, but I do like the results when I do. I’d probably wear them more if I did worry about work-safe makeup. Usually once I’m home, and applying makeup, I want it BRIGHT and challenging!

      Reply

  3. spidergirl
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 23:29:25

    You look gorgeous with sultry eyes and bold lips; I’ve alway feared to try this look on me for I’ve got pale skin and red doesn’t look good on me at all! But you’re rocking with this look 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 03, 2011 @ 02:23:46

      maybe it’s the type of red? Red is usually even MORE gorgeous on pale skin. What’s your foundation shade, cool or warm? Sometimes, where a bright red is too much, you might like a deeper red(like Dubonnet) or a more plum or berry red(Like MAC Spice it Up)

      Reply

      • spidergirl
        Jan 03, 2011 @ 02:32:59

        Yes reds should be used according to your undertone and I’ve got a warm one. So, I can’t wear bright reds with blue undertone. I only get plums, corals, and deeper reds like those transitioning towards maroon. If sometimes I use a cool foundation I look more made up than I should be 🙂

      • dolcearia
        Jan 03, 2011 @ 03:08:06

        Dubonnet or Spice it Up should be nice on you, then. If you’re feeling REALLY brave, you might look at MAC Lady Danger in store. It’s heart-stoppingly neon warm red. I don’t get to wear it as much since it’s so VERY bright and warm. It’s quite fun, though, for a change.

        Also, you can layer a warmer gloss over a true-red lipcolor to alter it just slightly for your skin. Fyrinnae Acidic Cherry lip lustre is GORGEOUS for adding a faint deep shine to brighter reds. Plus, it’s cheap!

  4. spidergirl
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 03:15:38

    I like your suggestion about sweeping a warmer gloss over true-red lipstick. That might work for me. I’ve been using Rimmel London Golden Girl lipstick for a few months now & I love it to the core. It has gold dust in it that sparkles when you put it on. And that’s a lip color I’m looking for in other brands since Rimmel has discontinued that one.

    I like Dubonnet more than Spice it Up for the swatches I’ve seen. Might try both of them!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 03, 2011 @ 03:28:08

      Dubonnet is a little more opaque, and less glossy. It’s nicer if you’re planning to layer other things over top. Spice it up is a REALLY pretty color, but it’s a bit sheerer, and has a glossy shimmer. Plus, it’s a bit more of a plum-brown than a red.

      Good luck with the gloss layering. It can be a lifesaver for the little tweaks. And once you find a good color that works?
      I haven’t seen Golden Girl. It sounds really pretty. Gold sparkles over red are CLASSIC.

      Reply

      • spidergirl
        Jan 03, 2011 @ 04:04:42

        I would definitely swatch this lipstick on my blog. Yes, I love gold dust and shimmer on lips, I remember one of my teachers used to put shimmery lipsticks at school. Seems like I’m inspired by her 🙂

        You’ve inspired me to layer lippies, and it’s what I’ve started doing often! Plum-browns are not my thing but I’d love to wear plum that turns towards red. Might try Dubonnet first! It’s so nice of you 🙂

      • dolcearia
        Jan 03, 2011 @ 04:24:21

        You might like MUFE flash cream. The gold one is GORGEOUS, both as a base, and also on lips. Blend a little with clear gloss for an instant gold shimmer, or concentrate it in the center of your lips for a highlight, and blend outward. It’s a very warm gold, but it shows up well(which is why I like it).

        Layering lipsticks is great fun, to me. I’ve spent entirely too much time playing with it, since I prefer to spend my money on eyeshadows most of the time. Gotta make my stash of lipsticks carry me that much further, before buying more colors!

  5. spidergirl
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 04:35:25

    Seriously I haven’t used MUFE flash cream before, even didn’t hear about it. Now I’m compiling my online shopping list and it’s just what I’m going for. Great suggestion, thanks for it 🙂 Don’t know why I’m TOO MUCH into golds 🙂 Thanks lovely!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 03, 2011 @ 05:10:22

      That’s what I’m here for! The MUFE Silver and GOld flash creams are fun because you can use them for almost ANYTHING. The texture is creamy, mixes well, etc. I use them both on the eyes, though I think one isn’t technically classified as eye safe. They just bring out the sheen on any shadows applied over top. King me, from earlier this week, was done with the silver as a base. It’s just a REALLY nice versatile product.

      I know they also have a gold Aqua cream–that formula dries down much more and is less effective on the lips. Still very pretty and usable though. I’d get the Flash cream though, since it’s more versatile, and you already have gold colors to fill in over top.

      Shopping lists are fun. Mine has been mutilated beyond belief by holiday shopping. Right now, I think there’s NARS sheer matte foundation in Siberia, OCC Glitters and Clear lip tar, Eve Pearl Salmon Concealer, MUFE Concealer palette, MUFE Rouge Artist Intense #11, maybe a few of the UD cream shadow sticks that are coming out soon…. I know there’s more than that, but I’ve been trying not to focus on it.

      Reply

      • spidergirl
        Jan 03, 2011 @ 06:07:14

        Just figured out, I’ve got oily lids and eye shadows don’t stick well there… would this product right for me? I guess, no 😦 What do you say?

      • dolcearia
        Jan 03, 2011 @ 06:19:01

        If you apply a good amount of shadow over top and a good primer underneathe(especially a drier one like mAC paintpots), it should be fine(It DOES drink shadow up!!!)

        If you’re really worried, get the Aqua cream. It dries down a LOT, so even BARE it doesn’t move on oily skin. It’s fine on lips, you just may want to moisturize lips first. It’s VERY opaque though, so use sparingly. I’ll try mixing it with glosses today to compare. I think it generally doesn’t mix too much, so you’ll want to smudge a bit into the center of the lip, smudge outward, and apply gloss overtop IMMEDIATELY to try to blend it before it sets.

        Does that help? Any other random questions I can help with? I like comparing products. It’s my inner obsessive compulsive.

  6. spidergirl
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 06:24:18

    That’s great dolcearia! You’ve certainly got a lot of experience with cosmetics, I’m glad I’m learning so much from you 🙂

    Not right now, but I would drop you another question as soon as I get down trying something new 🙂 Off to add some more products on my shopping list! Thanks doll!

    Reply

  7. Susan
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 10:38:52

    Can you compare MAC’s Dubonnet with Viva Glam I? I can’t decide which to get!! I think the Dubonnet is shiner, but maybe I want the more matte?? Argh; I love them all!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 03, 2011 @ 12:22:19

      It has been a long time since I saw Viva Glam I— V is th only one I own, and that’s considerably different. What skin type do you have? If you have drier lips, I’d avoid the matte shade. Matte shades usually feather less, but the glossier shades are usually less drying, and emphasize existing dry patches less.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

