Review: Tokidoki eyeshadow in Soya

Call me biased, but I don’t usually care for cutesy cutesy packaging.  Tokidoki eyeshadows looked cute, but I had a hard time wanting to take the brand seriously because the packages seemed so bulky, obviously done only for the aesthetic of skull-shaped eyeshadow.  Plus, I look at the sephora testers to see how well they hold up to repeated use.  These were all broken.  I bought Soya as a gift, though.  The color looked so cute, I went ahead and got another one for myself later.   Mine, of course, is in the line for depotting.

Soya is a striking yellow-green.  It’s surprisingly wearable, able to be paired with golds or greens.  It works better on cool skin tones, but will work well on others, depending what its paired with.  For $15 it’s a really nice color!  Urban Decay colors are $18, MAC is $15, MUFE is $20… It’s on par with similarly distributed mid-high market lines.

There’s a slight gold sheen to it, but i wouldn’t call it frosty o r shimmery.  It just… glows….  The formula reminded me a lot of Urban Decay eyeshadow, but it’s just slightly dryer textured.

No real wear or application issues.  It’s not as bright as a lot of bright bands, but it blends well in use.  This color, and Sugarpill Absinthe were MADE to go together.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggie
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 14:32:28

    Hi there! I know this post is pretty old, but every time I Google “depotting TokiDoki eyeshadows”, your Twitter comment is the only relevant result I get – but it doesn’t actually say what the trick to depotting them IS, just that you have one 🙂 I would be forever indebted if you would share it! I hate giant packaging and these guys have been driving me up the wall for months.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jun 29, 2011 @ 08:56:30

      Truthfully, I always meant to go back and post a tutorial on how I did it—-I just wasn’t in love with any of their other eyeshadow colors enough to pay $15 to redo it on camera. Next time I’m at Sephora, I’ll grab one, and get pictures of the weak spots, and how I did it! It’s sad that their packaging is SOOOOOOOOO annoying.

      If it helps, the weak spot(where you would drive a palette knife, to pry the product/lining away from the main case) is not on the immediate edge of the pan(like MAC eyeshadow) but is by the outer edge. Pry away the plastic pan with the product glued in it, set it in the oven, or on a hair straightener(with wax paper to protect the straightener, of course) to melt the glue, and depot as you would a normal e/s pan, prying the pan up once the glue is melted, attaching label and magnet, etc.

      Check back in a few weeks–I’ll try to get another photo that shows where EXACTLY to stick the blade to pry it up without damaging it!

      Reply

  2. Maggie
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 09:34:16

    Thanks for replying 🙂 I’d definitely love to see pictures of the whole process. The packing is such a pain in the butt! I really like the eyeshadows I have from them (Soya is one of my favorite light greens) but the enormous packaging is so annoying. Cute, but annoying.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jul 15, 2011 @ 09:30:35

      Well, I’ll do what i can. I’ll warn you right now—I’m in the middle of a family emergency at the moment, so I have several reviews and looks that are just a edited photograph away from posting, and I haven’t had time to do any of them. So please be patient waiting for me to get a tester for this. We’ll get that tutorial up for you, though.

      Reply

  3. Maggie
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 10:07:50

    Absolutely no hurry 🙂 It’s just an eyeshadow, after all! Whenever you get around to it is totally fine with me. I hope everything is ok with your family, and have a good weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

