Review: Mario Badescu Drying Cream

Having heard great things about Mario Badescu skincare, and the drying cream in specific, I was excited to try it. I’ve been between acne products for a while—either they irritate my skin and cause MORE breakouts, once the top layer of skin peels off, or they seem ineffectual against the sporadic zits I get. I have slightly oily skin,with a few hormonal breakouts, some clogged pores or uneven-ness to the skin texture.

It is a bit pricier than a lot of acne fixes, but it WORKS well! The texture is thick and pasty, sort of an egg-shell beige color that melts into the skin and can take some of the redness out. It forms a barrier that can help prevent makeup applied over top from collecting in the infected pores, and it dries out the infections much faster than any acne cream I’ve tried. Use it SPARINGLY. I put a dab on blemishes when I notice them swelling, morning and night, and I barely have any of them reach full-blown zit status any more.

The jar of drying cream is HUGE, considering how much you need. I sort of wish it was in a tube dispenser, for sanitary purposes…. especially since you can’t just take a little off the top. This separates VERY easily, and if you don’t stir it a few times a week, you’ll have a layer of brown fluid sitting on top of the cream. Yuck.

I didn’t notice any adverse reactions, except for a bit of dry skin, if I applied it over otherwise healthy skin. That’s fairly standard, though. Just make sure you ONLY apply it where it is needed. This is not a general lotion for all over your face! It hasn’t changed much of the smaller bumps/uneven-ness on my face, but it has definitely eliminated most of the true blemishes.

The consistency of it is a little thick, and gritty. Ever touched drywall paste? It feels a bit like that. You may need to massage it into the skin a little to avoid ivory streaks. There’s not a lot of color to it on the skin—just enough that it can cover slight irritations. This definitely does not replace your favorite green-based concealer of choice, for covering blemishes. For minor irritations, though, the tone is a bit more noticeable, and you may find yourself skipping the concealer.

If your skin is especially dry, spot treatment may be effective. I’d watch it pretty closely, though, to make sure you don’t stress your skin further. Oily or normal skin will probably do well with it, as well. All in all, it’s a really effective product for my skin! Certainly it’s my favorite acne product.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 02:30:41

    Ahh… I have to find something effective. Even jojoba oil has stopped working for me 😦
    I’m glad that it helped!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 07, 2011 @ 08:52:22

      Ouch! I know the feeling. I don’t usually worry too much, btu I know my skin has gotten a lot more sensitive since I’ve been outside in all weather. When I get a zit, I REALLY get a zit! So I’m REALLY happy for a bit of help! The fact that it doesn’t make my face peel off is a plus, too. I had one acne cream do that. It was TERRIBLE. I was rubbing olive oil on my face four times a day to take the sting off, and prevent it from getting worse!(It worked. I just wiped off excess oil before it could soak in to cause more breakouts)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

