tutorial: Sugarpill Cadenza

Yes, this look is LOUD. I kind of love it, though.  And it’s surprisingly easy with sugarpill eyeshadows. T hey blend easily, and are BRIGHT as all heck!

We’ll need Sugarpill Tako(matte white) Dollypop(hot pink/fuchsia), Poison Plum(purple with a magenta hint) and Love+(matte red).  We’ll use a sephora  #23 all-over shadow brush, and the larger Posh domed crease brush.  Also, an angled liner brush, and Sephora cream liner in Bewitch me.  Oh, and your mascara of choice.

Prime the lid with Urban Decay Primer Potion, and finish your brows.  Tap the domed crease brush into Poison Plum, and apply it to the outer crease.  Don’t go all the way to the corner of the lower lid.

Clean off the domed brush, and tap it into Dollypop.  Blend above crease, working towards center of crease.  Extend it slightly further into the inner eye than Poison Plum

 

Fill in the lower lid COMPLETELY with Love+ , using your all-over shadow brush.  Blend it lightly upwards, in the inner corner, so that it meets the edge of Dollypop.

Next, snag Tako.  Clean off the domed crease brush, and apply tako to the browbone.  I prefer this brush because the tip is smaller, and we can work around our hot pink crease.  This look has a VERY high falloff.  Apply it mostly to the outer corner.  On the inner browbone, blend it with Love+  and dollypop, in little circles.  I like this because it can really emphasize a brow arch(mine are mostly straight, so they need all the help they can GET!)

Next, grab your all-over shadow brush. It’s slightly fluffier than the crease brush, so it’s better suited to softening blendings.  Brighten up your colors with it, and pull the colors into each other slightly.  Line the lower waterline with Rockstar, smudging it into the lower lashline slightly

Next, line your upper lashline with a fairly thick coat of Bewitch Me.  Bewitch me is very creamy, so remember to distribute it evenly on the angled liner brush.  You can rub it back and forth on the lid, or on almost any flat surface(I like ceramic tiles, because they’re easy to clean and sanitize.  I’m a germ nerd at times).  Start near the outer corner, pulling the brush outwards.  Work inward in segments that way, adding more product to the brush if need be.  The line should be slightly thicker at the outer lashline.

Finish with your mascara of choice, and/or a pair of false lashes. I like buxom mascara for a pseudo-false look.  At this point, I made a last minute decision, and added a bit more Poison Plum to the crease using a small, dense crease brush.  I pulled the inner corner of the color inward, with a sharper contour.

Anyways, finish your skin, conceal any under eye bags, etc.  We’re done!

I threw on a bubble-gum pink blush(Well, Sugarpill Birthday Girl eyeshadow pigment, but it works in that capacity too!), and a soft pink lips, with some magenta notes, to try to avoid overwhelming it.  It’s fun matching lips to bright eyes like this. Plus, these bright colors REALLY make eyes pop. I love it.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 13:59:24

    I neeeeed Dollipop… and Afterparty……. and the whole Burning Heart quad… ahhh!!!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 08, 2011 @ 14:15:02

      They’re fun, right? I got the Sweetheart palette, and the Burning Heart palette, so the only pressed shadow I don’t have is the matte black, which I would rarely use. It’s nice being able to get literally EVERYTHING so easily, and I love all the colors so far! These have even surpassed the MUFE mattes for being my favorite matte brights! They’re SO easy to work with!

      Reply

      • Elizabeth
        Jan 08, 2011 @ 14:44:34

        Yeah, I don’t need a black matte either! (I have the Black Palette from UD ^_^) Too bad my birthday isn’t until May…

        I heard a rumor (I think Shrinkle might have even said it on her fb page?) that she might come out with single eyeshadows or mix-n-match custom palettes or something… maybe I will try to hold out for that. 🙂

      • dolcearia
        Jan 08, 2011 @ 15:27:56

        Correct me if I’m wrong… but aren’t all of the eyeshadows already sold as singles as well?

        http://www.sugarpillshop.com/collections/pressed-eyeshadows

        How is the Black palette? I didn’t get it, because i have a peculiar dislike for black shadows… I have UD Perversion, MAC Carbon, and I think one or two other variations with sparkles from other companies, but i NEVER use them. On me it just gives my makeup that peculiar step from “crazy confident colors” t0 “does that look like a drag queen to you?” It’s generally not very flattering, for some reason. Maybe it’s because I’m so pale anyways. I use slightly off-black shadows, like dark purples or navies.

  2. Elizabeth
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 16:59:56

    Oh yeah duh oops! Haha. I guess I meant like a “buy 4 for the price of a palette” deal.

    If you have a “peculiar dislike for black shadows” then you should not get it! 😛 Apparently they look the best over Pixie Epoxy (http://cosmetichameleon.blogspot.com/2010/09/update-on-urban-decay-black-palette-how.html), which I don’t have, but I have managed to get a similar effect over a white eyeshadow stick. Even so, they all look mooostly just like black eyeshadow. I got this palette not because it looks particularly flattering on me (pale skin ftw?), but because I was in a bad mood and I wanted something to make the perfect angry smokey eye… 😄

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 09, 2011 @ 03:58:20

      Ah, that makes more sense! For a while i was holding out for that too. THe colors in the burning heart quad are lovely, but I didn’t think I needed Flamepoint and Buttercupcake. I’m happy I got it anyways, mind you, but it IS still a little silly that I already own two matte yellows, several shimmery ones, a shimmery orange, and a number of sparkly oranges, or orange bases. I usually try to avoid having too much overlap in my collection on colors like that that REALLY can’t be used too frequently.

      Yep, I’ve been passing on the black palette. If it had been gorgeous in practice, I’d be tempted to give in, though. I’m still tempted by Sugarpill Stella, though, since the rainbow sparkles look REALLY prominent and I LOVE prominent sparkles…..

      Of course, I don’t usually do Angry Smoky Eyes. Lips are usually where that comes out. Through my teens, I had a frosty ice blue lipstick that made me look like I had corpse lips. And everyone around me was well trained enough to know if I was wearing it, they would be endangering a few limbs to talk to me. Usually darker violet or navy is my angry lipcolor.

      Reply

  3. spidergirl
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 07:06:13

    A classic pretty in pink! Lovely, pretty, and awesome too! I’m going to try it! So much lovely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

