First experiments in Liquid Latex

Warning.  Is fairly gruesome.

Advice is more than welcome! The boyfriend thought it looked fine, but I don’t think he would say anything if it didn’t.

I used MUFE Flash cream in Red, Brown, Blue, and Black.  MAC NC 15 studiofix foundation, Mehron clear liquid latex, sewing thread, and MAC eyeshadows in Sketch, Kid, Cork.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena (xoxo Parisky)
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 12:43:48

    It looks pretty good! 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 12:53:34

      Thanks. I think it’s a bit rough, first time and all. I wasn’t sure if it was overkill with all the other bruising and shading. I’m kind of hoping to pick up some tips before I try this again. I think the poor man was a little amused at my concentration on this. He looked rather befuddled when I kept asking him for feedback. Poor fellow.

      Reply

  2. Helena
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 14:00:04

    ahahahah 🙂 that’s because you can’t know how fascinating it can be until you try it for yourself. I did a few liquid latex wounds and realized there are so little tips for this (at least decent ones that I could find) and that even an unrealistic one can look very fast very realistic if you add a bit of fake blood in it.
    Also try shading the wound (like blood in the shadow looks dark red to blue). 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 14:13:28

      I used brown for scabbing, and added red shading around it. The red did get blended out a bit more. More fake blood had been the boyfriends recommendation as well. I don’t think I expected the latex to soak up so much of the color applied over it! Even an hour later, the color had soaked in completely, and looked downright faded!

      I think I did pretty well with the bruising though, ahaha!

      Reply

  3. Helena
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 14:26:58

    the latex absorbed the color? That never happend to me.
    And yup, the bruising was good 😀

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 15:32:09

      Hmm. Maybe it’s just because i used a really creamy product. After about five minutes, the color had soaked in to the point where I could NOT blend it! Ah well, live and learn. On the whole it wasn’t bad, and the longevity of the stain probably wasn’t a bad thing…

      Reply

  4. snow0016
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 19:33:15

    wah! i don’t want to stare at it! lol! good job! 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 11, 2011 @ 08:54:47

      I’ll take that as a compliment! I wasn’t sure if it made it more, or less, gross keeping it “dry”, without a lot of blood. I wanted it to look badly treated, but not fresh…. Maybe soon I’ll memorize the signs of various infections, and try imitating those!

      <—-is a horror connoisseur.

      Reply

  5. spidergirl
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 05:38:12

    It really looks awful, but you’ve again did a great job with it! You’re the most creative makeup artist I’ve seen so far!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 16, 2011 @ 06:04:09

      Ahahaha, thanks. Awful was definitely the point. Sometimes it’s fun making things that are exactly the OPPOSITE of the sort of flawless art we usually strive for in makeup application. Of course, it’s not helped by the fact that i’m a fantasy/horror/sci fi nerd, who has worked in a number of higher risk fields that require a strong awareness of injuries. So I tend to visualize REALLY weird things to try to execute! I need to get off my tail to try some more things like this. I don’t think my abilities are quite where my mind is. It is VERY weird trying to make yourself various types of realistic corpses, though. Maybe I can talk the poor boyfriend into letting my retry his zombie makeup now that I have the latex to do better wounds.

      Reply

  6. Tina
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 22:30:01

    So when I first saw this, I was like, OMG what happened?? Then I started reading and I was like, phew… okay…. nothings wrong! So there you have it!! It looks fantastic! Totally Gross, but Fantastic!!!

    Reply

  7. Sahily Anais MUA
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 07:49:29

    That is definitely a great start to special fx with latex! The best constructive criticism I can offer is to work on the shading of the wounds. I find it very helpful for myself to look up real photos of the fx I try to recreate, and simulate similar shades to real wounds.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 11, 2011 @ 09:49:44

      Thanks! I’ve been through a lot of that stuff(My job requires me to go through first aid/CPR/AED training), but I DEFINITELY wasn’t expecting the shading to handle the way it did. That latex draaaaaaaaaank the color I used and made it very difficult to blend it or get it as precise as I wanted. I need to try this again—I haven’t touched the latex since photographing this.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

