Burning Heart cut-crease

Generally, I don’t like cut-creases on myself. It’s just not flattering for my face shape. I can think of a lot of costumes I’d wear with this.

Eyes
UDPP
Sugarpill Love+-outer corner
Sugarpill Poison Plum-crease, lower waterline
Sugarpill DOllypop-above crease
Sugarpill Tako-highlight
Sugarpill Flamepoint-middle of lid
Sugarpill Buttercupcake-inner corner
Cargo Lash Activator mascara
MUFE Aqua eyes in black-lower waterline

Cheeks
Sugarpill Dollypop
Tarte Hotel Heiress-contour

Lips
MAC dare-to-wear lipgloss in Ban This!(Opaque glittery purple)
Illamasqua intense lipgloss in Petulant

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phyrra
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 14:14:12

    Very pretty! I especially love Poison Plum.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 15, 2011 @ 08:46:41

      It was fun to do. Definitely not my favorite, though. I love the burning heart palette. i think I just need a more angular face to be convincing with cut-creases.

      Reply

  2. spidergirl
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 05:41:48

    I really need to understand what is a ‘cut crease’ actually, some technique? Whatsoever, I loved it quite a lot, but don’t think this kind of makeup would look good on me. You look simply amazing!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 16, 2011 @ 06:15:11

      Cut crease is a fairly vague term. Usually it’s a technique using a VERY sharp crease, extended all or most of the way into the inner corner.
      cut-crease
      The lid color contrasts GREATLY with the crease. The crease can have a gentle falloff, but the line between it and the lid colors should be REALLY crisp.

      Usually, my creases are fairly sharp, but not AS sharp as a true cut-crease.Technically, though, it can be almost any form of dense crease with that sort of contrast. This is definitely a true cut-crease, though.

      I hope that helps? I’m multitasking at the moment, and I’m not sure how well I’m doing at either activity.

      Reply

  3. spidergirl
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 06:40:41

    I didn’t like this technique for it gives your eyes too much bolder look, but still your version is much better! You’ve explained it very well, thanks!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 01:07:08

      There’s a few face shapes that cut-crease look STUNNING on. Mine is not one. I think it is so very linear that if you have a rounder face, like mine, it just tends to overemphasize the eyes, without any balance elsewhere in the face. Cut-creases are great for balancing narrower face shapes, though. And I LOVE the technique, when it’s done well. It’s just not one that works well on myself. I still practice it a bit anyways, but not very often.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

