Focus On: Fyrinnae Dokkalfur

Focus On is a work in progress. Have you ever talked yourself out of buying a product because the color was too odd, and you wondered how often you would really be able to use it? Or, you know those colors you LOVE because of some hidden versatility that you never imagined when you bought it? I do that ALL of the time. In the interests of loving what I HAVE, and learning its limitations, rather than relying on the influx of new colors, I will be doing this post every Saturday, focusing on a new color from my collection, with examples of past work, ideas for other uses. Please feel free to suggest colors you wish to see, or uses for the ones listed, or let me know what your favorites are for future posts.

Dokkalfur is a rich blackened green, with sparkly lime, tangerine, and gold sparkles.  It’s really quite striking.

One of the challenges in working with Dokkalfur can be bringing out the greens.  An olive base(or layering over an olive eyeshadow) works beautifully.

Or layer it over a deep gold color, for a more metallic olive.


It makes a beautiful eyeliner, applied wet.


It also works well with a smoky bronze look, and can make blue or green eyes pop. I recommend bronzes with a teal sparkle, like UD Lounge, to blend between the green, and the neutral lid.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 08:03:03

    What a beautiful color. I think, sometimes, we don’t realize how versatile a color can be. Thanks for the post!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 14, 2011 @ 08:59:29

      I know I certainly don’t…. I’m a bit of a hoarder, so I want new colors every week. Trying to figure out HOW i’m actually using these colors for these posts makes me appreciate my collection so much more. Dokkalfur is one of my favorites…. the sparkles don’t show up as much on camera, but in person it is really eyecatching. It’s definitely a distinctive color.

      Reply

  2. Susan
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 09:40:26

    Love these looks…hmmm, looks like I need Dokkalfur….and the collecting goes on…..

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 14, 2011 @ 09:47:41

      Sigh. I know the feeling. I think you’ll really like Dokkalfur, though! It’s got a bit of a punch, but really does work well for most variants of neutral or smokey eyes, depending on how you use it. If you’re placing an order with Fyrinnae, I bet you’d also love Atomic Afterglow, Fyre and Ice, and Mephisto.

      Reply

  3. ctkathy
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 22:16:27

    Gosh… This color is beautiful… Anyway, I love the different looks… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

