Review: Diorshow mascara

Long before I discovered Buxom mascara, Diorshow was my favorite mascara.  I own Chestnut Brown, and though there’s not much difference between that and black, I like having the hint of brown for toning down neutral or natural makeup looks.  I’ve owned Diorshow since before I wrote reviews, so it always slipped my mind that I HADN’T actually written my feelings on it except in a few comparisons in other mascara reviews.

Diorshow is a nice all-purpose formula. It DOES volumize quite a bit, but it also separates nicely. I’ve never had issues with it flaking, clumping, or smudging.  I’ve heard from other makeup users that it does, in hotter climates.  So that is something to be aware of.  I like it, though.  Lashes look dramatic, but not overwhelmingly spiky.  It’s perfect to set off smoky eyes.

(sorry for the really old picture. My new ones seem to have gone missing!)

The brush is very full and thick, conventional bristles adn shape.  It applies nicely to the lower lashline, but I sometimes have issues reaching the corners of my eyes with it. You don’t NEED to use any special application techniques(Both my other mascara favorites recommend you twist the brush as you apply to get the most separation and fullness).  The formula is fairly moist, and with the brush type, product DOES collect on the tip, so be careful not to smudge when applying.

I prefer to use a good primer with it, for even MORE volume.  It’s not the most extraordinary mascara I own, but it’s good for when I don’t need anything specific.

I think i’d like it more if it was slightly creamier.  This is great for most lash types, but really thick types may have difficulty working it into the lashes, with the brush shape and mascara consistency.  Lately, I’ve been using Laura Mercier full blown volume mascara, and Fresh Supernova mascara in situations I used to use Diorshow. The wear is a bit better, adn both apply easier to my lash texture.  They don’t hold the lashes curl like Diorshow does, though.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 10:37:42

    What lash primer do you like best?

    I’ve been liking L’Oreal Voluminous for a cheaper brand. Diorshow was nice, but too $$ for mascara and I loved the Buxom as well, but still $18 to throw out in mere months….

    I’ve just discovered we’re supposed to THROW OUT makeup after, like, 2 years! Eek, there goes THAT investment! Hmmm, time to rethink here. Maybe I should use UP stuff before purchasing a similar item. Crap, there goes all the fun.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 16, 2011 @ 10:47:53

      I’ve been using Lancome CILS Booster as a lash primer, but that’s probably still a bit pricey for you. To be honest, I don’t really use many drugstore products. I’ve learned the hard way that I’m generally not happy with items I can’t weed out with a test in-store. I’ve had drugstore mascaras that actually made my lashes fall out trying to remove them.

      I know I’ve seen advertisements for a drugstore brand similar to the buxom, brush and all. I’ll see if I can dig up the name for you? Sorry, I’m kind of useless for cheaper recommendations!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

