Review: Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Pur Couture #9

I have to admit, I have mixed feelings on YSL makeup. I LOVE the golden glosses, and the Touche Eclat is nice, but I’ve generally felt they were a bit overpriced for most of their items. I got their holiday set, to try different things. #9 was included in that, and I was excited to try out the lipstick formula. The color looked very pretty, a rich berry pink. I like the lipstick overall, but I don’t think I’ll go out and buy other shades in the range. It’s a nice formula for if you want ONE color that will be your go to red-plum-vampy lipstick of choice. But I like variety, and the formula isn’t so standout as to justify the cost for me. It’s creamy and doesn’t dry lips, but it doesn’t stay on lips for very long either.

It’s decently pigmented, but can be sheered out, paired with lipglosses, etc. for different effects. It is not drying at all, but I noticed that I only got 4 hours of wear on it, and the creamy texture on the lips made it prone to smudging.

I LOVE the versatility of the color, and the other shades I’ve seen in the line look nice. Nothing spectacular, but nice. #9 is a rich medium berry pink. It’s not as dark as you would think, or completely opaque. But it offers decent coverage, and can be layered with other products for additional effects. There’s not really a noticeable shimmer, but there is some gloss. Still, I’d rather spend 19$ on MUFE Rouge Artist Intense lipsticks, or $15 on MAC lipsticks than $26 on Rouge Pur Couture. It’s pretty, I just don’t think I should have to touch it up or reapply every hour and a half to combat the smudging. I wish it was slightly thicker, to adhere better to the lips. Especially with a brighter shade like #9, you DON’T want it smearing outside your lip line at the drop of a hat. I didn’t notice it creasing, and it wore off evenly… it just smudged very easily. Speak one sentence and POOF, there’s lipstick all over your teeth, and outside your cupids bow. It’s a very high maintenance product for the price.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

