sugarpill candy hearts

So today was a “boyfriend” day. I was picking up a gift he has been waiting on, and decided to just wear my favorite nerd-shirt, and doll myself up. THe boyfriend is a bad influence as far as my obsession with colors go. He loved this look. It was VERY VERY bright and striking. And quite probably overkill. I feel a little bit like a parrot.

Side note: I’m REALLY disappointed in my Illamasqua lipstick.  As much of a letdown as it was new, it has aged and dried out FARR faster than lipsticks I’ve had considerably longer.  It’s barely wearable.  I think I WILL melt it down as pigment in my own chapsticks.  It seems to almost flake off my lips now. I wonder if it’s worth going back and editing/bumping my original review.  Who would expect a lipstick I’ve had less than 4 months to handle like this!

Eyes

UDPP

Sugarpill WEekenders-crease

Sugarpill Dollypop-above crease

Sugarpill Tako- highlight and between wings

Sugarpill Afterparty-outer 2/3 lower lid, lower lashline

Sugarpill Poison Plum-outer corner

Sugarpill Lumi-inner corner, lower lashline

Buxom mascara

Buxom lashliner in blue Velvet-lower waterline, upper lashline, and eyeliner wings(sketch in Tako contrast in normal eyeliner wing placement, and fill in the wings around it)

Cheeks

Sugarpill Dollypop

Benefit Hi Beams-highlight

Lips

Illamasqua Underworld

MAC Dazzleglass in Funtabulous

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 13:28:15

    Love this makeup! I think it’s one of your best so far! The colors, the blending, everything!

    Too bad for the lipstick :/ Hopefully the blue one won’t dry out in 4 months! That sucks.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 18, 2011 @ 13:31:52

      I’m SURE disciple will be better. Honestly, underworld was always a bit on the dry side…. I kind of wonder if I got a defective batch or something. It NEVER applied evenly or wore very well. Disciple looks like a slightly different formula. We’ll see though.

      It also helps that disciple is going to be GORGEOUS layered, so if it’s finicky? I just put a bunch over top to soften that! I already do that with a few of my MUFE Rouge Artist Intense lipsticks.

      Reply

  2. Phyrra
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 16:55:02

    This is a lovely eye look. I really like After Party with Poison Plum.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 19, 2011 @ 08:57:11

      Thanks. Those two worked surprisingly well together. I love these crazy loud looks…. My favorite is the combination of Dollypop and Afterparty, but I’m an absolute SUCKER for neon pink.

      Reply

  3. indigo_tide
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 15:26:55

    My boyfriend would love this look too. I’ll have to borrow it sometime. 😉

    Reply

  4. Krista
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 15:36:56

    Got linked here by Sugarpill…Gorgeous look! And you are too lucky to have a boyfriend that actually likes makeup like that…my last one haated any kind of visible makeup. So not fun haha.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 19, 2011 @ 16:39:55

      I couldn’t tolerate that at all. His mom sometimes would act condescending if we told her he had gotten me makeup for a holiday, or pointed out that I adore my make up art. “WEll, it’s what’s in HERE *thumps chest* that counts” and all that. Nowadays, she’s sort of accepted that it REALLY isn’t a bout wearing makeup, so much as APPLYING it. We’ve even had great conversations about products, and she gets various products that I think would suit her better!

      The man though, freely avows “the brighter the better”. It’s kind of cute, especially since he NEVER notices unless I make him notice… but when he does, he loves it! I do have to admit, nothing’s funnier than watching him pick up the lingo. Months back, we went to see iron man 2. He knows my love of extravagant makeup, and I commented”Oh, I should do something special”.

      His response? “Red and gold, chunky blending, maybe a cut crease. Do you have any rhinestones or metal studs to use?” SOOOOOOOO cute.

      Reply

  5. spidergirl
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 06:54:08

    That’s sooo much cute and pretty at the same time, you’ve got a great talent working with bight colors! I appreciate it wholeheartedly, and would love to see more of it!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 22, 2011 @ 08:52:58

      I still smile when I see this one… It’s just such a happy look! I can never figure out whether to focus on the brights that I love, or the neutrals that are probably more useful to everybody else. I try to do both, but I’m never quite sure how the balance is. Here I’d been worried I’ve done WAY too many crazy-tacky-candy colorful looks lately!

      Reply

  6. Brandy Von Doeren
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 07:28:04

    love !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

