daisy chain

I love winged liner.  Even when it’s really not necessary.

Eyes
UDPP
Sugarpill Tako-highlight and inner corner
Sugarpill Buttercupcake-lower lid
Sugarpill Midori-outer corner
Sugarpill Afterparty-crease
Buxom lashliner in Leatherette-upper lashline and lower waterline. Wing liner out at outer corner
Buxom mascara

Cheeks
MAC Azalia blossom

Lips
MUFE #33 Rouge Artist Intense.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 13:49:31

    Oh yes! I love winged liner too – very Marilyn Monroe! Now if I just didn’t have hooded crepe-y eyes…. I just saw a picture of myself in shimmery shadow…ew!!
    So today, for me, is NARS Portobello & a bit of MAC Embark on the outside.

    Love your pretty exotic colors, and beautiful lips!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 19, 2011 @ 14:52:12

      It happens to the best of us, at some point. Shimmer shadows can REALLY easily be overwhelming. Even I usually avoid them on parts of my lid, because there’s some scars that they emphasize into nasty little creases and indentations. You wear the details you can, and live vicariously through others for the ones you can’t.

      The odd thing about winged liner, is so much of it depends on your posture too. My eyes have a fairly deep crease/are slightly hooded, and I notice when I wear eyeliner wings, I find myself tipping my chin up a lot more. I think it’s kind of a subconscious response to the knowlege that my crease kind of swallows wings or subtle shadings on the lid, UNLESS I behave that way. With most of my eye makeup, I tend to tilt my chin down, and look up through my lashes at pretty much everybody. But with wings, I angle my chin up to show them off. With a bare face, it’s somewhere between the two, with more rigid facial expressions(because usually I’m at work, and the more animated I am, the less seriously people take me). It really IS odd how styles of makeup can change our images of ourselves and our body language!

      Reply

      • Susan
        Jan 19, 2011 @ 18:14:54

        Oh my!! That is so true! I thought I was the only one who tipped her face upwards!! I had to laugh. That’s how I always look at myself in the mirror to “admire” the makeup job! LOL! : D

      • dolcearia
        Jan 20, 2011 @ 09:18:32

        I think at least a bit of it is subconscious. Especially with us beauty nerds, who tend to have a VERY strong awareness of our features and flaws…. It just kind of becomes habit to play t them.

        Did you see that one study? I may have to look it up. It focused on facial expression and eye directions…. They asked women certain keywords or emotions, and found they would flick their eyes a certain direction for each one. without making that conscious attempt to “look pretty”. You know, “daydreaming” and your eyes go up to the right, “mysterious” and you tilt your face towards the side and look out of the corner of your eyes, etc. I love watching how many movements we have programmed in, but aren’t really aware of.

  2. Helena
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 14:16:55

    Gorgeous!
    Winged eyeliner is always necessary! It makes every look stand out 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 19, 2011 @ 14:45:13

      Thanks. I like it with bright colors, because it almost reminds me of the floral prints usually used in apparel. I love abstract or textural makeup ideas! Just that little pop of crispness….

      Reply

  3. spidergirl
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 06:35:56

    It’s simply awesome! I love brights like these on eyes but you’ve picked your colors quite nicely. The look would have looked the same awesome without winged liner but still I loved how you applied it to perfection!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 22, 2011 @ 08:45:56

      yeah, the liner wasn’t necessary….I just go through cravings, wanting good crisp liner wings. And this one, with the flatness of the finish, i thought the wings paired nicely with it! Not as overdone as one would think.

      I’m learning to love yellow, although I have to remind myself to use it. Give me a good green or pink any day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 253 other followers

