Review: MAC Pro Longwear foundation in NC 15

I sat on this review for months, because I’m so very ambivalent on the foundation itself.  We’ll try it like this.

Pros

  1. VERY longwearing, even on oily skin
  2. Slightly more natural colors than paler MAC Studio fix foundations
  3. Nice range of shades
  4. Nice heavy medium coverage
  5. Makeup(like cream blush) applied over top seems to last longer.

Cons

  1. Can emphasize dryness in skin  Even on my slightly-oily skin, my forehead looks like I have intense dry patches.  This gets a bit worse as the day goes on.
  2. MUST be applied over primer to apply evenly, without streaking
  3. Colors STILL may not be quite natural for pale girls(It’s still slightly too dark and yellow for me, though better than Studio Fix Fluid)
  4. Can be DRYING on skin.  My skin feels parched after removing it.
  5. Coverage can be a bit TOO heavy and masklike, and it is difficult to thin with water.

I photographed it a good 8-9 hours after application, and you can see my face STILL looks flawless, no oxidation, blush still in place, no oily shine….

So, I think your results will vary based on your skins needs.  On me, it was “meh”.  Not the worst foundation I’ve tried, but it’s not high up on my “foundations to buy” list.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aneela
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 08:50:54

    Soon i m gonna buy this one
    BTW u r looking gorgeous 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 08:53:47

      Good luck with it! It’s a good product, and does what it should. If you don’t mind the really heavy coverage, and slightly drying texture, this may be a godsend for all-day makeup!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

