Review: MAC Viva Glam V lipstick

Viva Glam V is one of my favorite lipstick shades.

Viva Glam is MAC’s charity collaboration line of lipsticks.  Most are varying shades of classic red.   Viva Glam V, however, is a nude peach with a gold shimmer. It’s very wearable.  The tone is neutral enough to look peachy and pretty on cool skin tones, but definitely does lean warmer.  I get fairly decent wear, 5-6 hours, and my lips don’t feel dry or cracked when its worn off.  It doesn’t feather.

The gold really shows up more as a sheen than anything else–you can layer it with gold sparkled lipglosses to bring it out, or pop other glosses over top for other effects.  It’s a beautifully versatile color!

MAC’s packaging has always been sleek, pretty, and all told fairly sturdy.  The Viva Glam line have a red metallic band, instead of the standard silver.  It’s a pretty subtle difference, but cute nonetheless. I don’t really have strong feelings for corporate charity projects—usually I figure I’d rather donate the money myself, than get something JUST because the company will donate to the charity FOR me.  It just seems like adding an extra step.  That said, if you love the color, this may be additional incentive to feel good about buying it.  MAC lipsticks aren’t terribly pricey, as high end makeup goes, but 15$(i think) may still be a splurge to a lot of people.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aneela
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 02:52:45

    I just loveeeeeeeeeeeee this shade.

    Reply

  2. Phyrra
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 18:52:35

    It’s gorgeous 🙂

    Reply

  3. Susan
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 18:57:42

    Mmmm, loving it! I think I’m turning into a lipstick junkie now….LOL!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 26, 2011 @ 13:36:31

      understandably. I like the effort I put into eye makeup, but a droolworthy lipstick is just the easiest way to instantly feel more put-together. This color is PERFECT for a more subtle finish.

      Reply

  4. Tamara
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 10:42:55

    A very pretty & versatile lipstick. :]

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 26, 2011 @ 13:38:58

      It really is. It’s not as bright as I usually prefer, but it’s perfect for what it is. And it’s so wearable on so many skin tones. I can’t think of anyone it wouldn’t match!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

